OctPo 26 THE FUTILITY OF FEAR

 

The Oct|Po prompt for today is to confront our fears.  What scares me most is pain and not much else, so I went back in my mind to childhood terror. 

 

Climb the ladder,
giggles and squeals,
up and up and up and up
to the roof of the barn,
the top of the hay.

One by one
boys and girls leap down,
whooping and hollering with glee.
My turn.  Help, it’s me.
the world turns and whirls
and I teeter on the beam.
I can’t.  Yes you can.
An eternity of indecision passes,
it must have been at least a minute.
Resignation reigns
more scared of scorn than of jumping.
I lean forward, tentative,
arms spread-eagled
but I don’t fly.
I fall,
accelerate through the shaft of sunlight
to the cushioned, scratchy
bed of hay beneath
take a deep breath
and promptly climb the ladder
to do it again.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, life writing, story poems. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to OctPo 26 THE FUTILITY OF FEAR

  1. Rod E. Kok says:

    What a wonderful poem! I am terrified of heights, and could never do what you described. Nicely done!!

    Like

  2. from excitement to fear and back again. the fun moments of childhood which you captured, and lived it seems, so well.

    Like

  3. Fida says:

    I love how the poem starts, it’s fun! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  4. dollymarionette says:

    That’s how I felt about jumping off the high dive. I did it, but it scared the hell out of me!
    http://poetryofthenetherworld.blogspot.com/2014/10/octpowrimo-2014-day-26.html

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Misky says:

    And very few children nowadays are allowed by nanny-states to test their limits and nerve. It’s healthy to learn that bumps and scraps heal. That we’re not as breakable as we fear. >

    Like

  6. I didn’t see that happy ending coming, I liked the surprise!

    Like

  7. granny1947 says:

    Now I am going to go crazy.
    I have read something in the last couple of days about kids jumping in a barn and fear.
    Darn it is going to worry me until I remember where I saw it.

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

