NaPoWriMo Day 9 – Raison d’être

The Napo prompt today wants to know why we continue to write poetry every day, using phrases such as staying the course, keeping on keeping on, because… just because.  To which I add cussedness, stickability.    But I don’t really have any choice in the matter….

It arrived in my life uninvited, unsought.
Welcomed charily, it had come to stay.
I started warily. Could I really do this?
Little by little, it took me over,
emerged at inconvenient moments,
insistent, pushy, wouldn’t be denied.

A moment of first waking is exciting
to see what arrived while sleeping.
A walk is not a walk without the words
that come willy nilly to encapsulate the scene,
or the sounds or the scents.
My mind always busy absorbing happy phrases,
describing the indescribable, exploring meaning,

A new malady is added to the catalogue:
Obsessive Poetic Disorder.

 

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, prose poem and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to NaPoWriMo Day 9 – Raison d’être

  1. thehutts says:

    Thanks for making me smile :). You didn’t pass on those genes as I normally suffer from word amnesia. Sally

    Like

  2. I think you just created a new thing. OPD. Brilliant! Definitely know the feeling you state here.

    Like

  3. lrconsiderer says:

    “My mind always busy absorbing happy phrases,
    describing the indescribable, exploring meaning,” – YES! I so, SO get that! And the pain of FORGETTING those thoughts which happened along the way, once you’ve managed to get to a place with a pen…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. O.P.D. I’m very familiar with that condition…if I don’t get to write I get moody.

    I love this, “My mind always busy absorbing happy phrases,
    describing the indescribable, exploring meaning,”

    Yes…so true, all of it!

    Like

  5. jazzytower says:

    Obsessive Poetic Disorder! I love it!! I’d rather have that any day.

    Like

  6. wandapsycho says:

    That’s poetry, in fact writing in general, at least for me. It is a kind of disease, perhaps. Although I’ve often thought I’d be more sensible if I were cured, the idea of being sensible bores me.
    http://poetryofthenetherworld.blogspot.com/2014/10/octpowrimo-2014-day-9.html

    Like

  7. Fida says:

    I love this line: A walk is not a walk without the words! And I laughed at the ending, you came up with a cool name for this! Thank you!

    Like

  8. OPD..it is!!!! Loved these lines”A walk is not a walk without the words” 🙂

    Like

  9. Misky says:

    OPD. I do love that. Wonderful.

    >

    Like

  10. Dawn D says:

    Obsessive Poetic Disorder! Great phrase!
    I don’t think I quite suffer from it… yet. But at times, I’ve caught myself playing with words while driving, looking at a scene or walking through nature.

    Like

  11. MarinaSofia says:

    I love this! So that’s what I’m suffering from: obsessive poetic disorder – that explains a lot!

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

