Moon Madness – Acrostic poem for Octpowrimo Day 8

Must I lie awake like this?
Or should I do something crazy?
Over-react to every issue
Never to resolve them.

Maybe
A hot drink would help
Diminish my wakefulness
No.  I  think not.
Even now I have the urge
Sinister schemes seep in.
So easy to slip out and slay.

 
You can find other full moon reactions here

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, short poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Moon Madness – Acrostic poem for Octpowrimo Day 8

  1. Love this!! Such fun and did you know that tomorrow there’s a full moon on the 8th at 4:50 A.M. that’s here any way so for you…sooner. You might not get this in time. I enjoy the tone of your poem, Viv!

    Like

  2. lrconsiderer says:

    Not badly done at all
    I can see you’ve tried hard to
    Create a re-enactment
    Encompassing your nighttime.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. especially like that first bit because I so often do that and question the value of it, really.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Fida says:

    That first stanza will bring readers to reflect on themselves, including me. Thank you!

    Like

  5. This makes me think….the moon does have adverse effects on us, no?

    Like

  6. Misky says:

    Clever clever clever!

    Like

  7. Bastet says:

    Great acrostic smooth and flowing … and scary!

    Like

  8. wandapsycho says:

    I used to be pretty wild in my youth, which I hate to say how far behind me that is. Having an older sibling who helped me sneak in the back door of the punk rock venues was the coolest thing ever and I refuse to regret it. I never actually slew anything except for my own brain cells.
    I’d probably go belly up if in a week I tried to do half the things that I used to do in one night, not to mention that at my age I’d look a complete fool. However, sometimes I think one last hurrah would be worth it!
    http://poetryofthenetherworld.blogspot.com/2014/10/octpowrimo-2014-day-8.html

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

