Illusion

Flat as global curvature allows,
appearance is deceptive.
Potential mayhem within the tranquil scene,
beneath the surface fish eats fish
and riptide drags all in its claws.

Picture and prompt are from Margo Roby’s blog today

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in ekphrastic poetry, free verse, short poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Illusion

  1. WE so easily forget, don’t we?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Like yes, good imagination!

    Like

  3. The sea; she is a beautiful but treacherous lady. Lovely insight.

    Like

  4. Nice, Viv!! That line of horizon captured me as well…I love the life you’ve given the unseen underside of that line!

    Like

  5. Misky says:

    It is indeed a hidden and mysterious world under there!

    Like

  6. DonettaS says:

    I loved your response to the prompt. Nicely written.

    Like

  7. margo roby says:

    Fascinating. You see the bit of white water near the coastline? There is what turns out to be a cattail crossing the line of submerged rock. When I glance at the picture, my thought on seeing the ripple is always, What is happening? What’s eating what?

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

