Six Word Saturday

It’s been a nasty old week

as Jock is poorly-in-bed-under-the-doctor with a severe infection.  The nurse comes every day to give him an injection of strong anti-biotic.  He is recovering a little each day, but it’ll be a long process.  He has at last started to eat a little bit.  Meanwhile I had to take my courage in both hands and get the car out of our very narrow garage (without a scrape!) and take to the roads for the first time in ages.  I didn’t drive for a year after the move, and it’s knocked my confidence for six.

You’ll find other six-worders at Cate’s Place, here.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in life writing. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Six Word Saturday

  1. Brave girl! Hope he’s on the mend now.

    Like

  2. magicalmysticalteacher says:

    May improvements come to both of you…soon!

    My Six Words

    Like

  3. granny1947 says:

    So sorry you are having a bad time.
    Don’t worry about driving.
    It is the OTHER people on the road who should worry. 🙂

    Like

  4. b_young says:

    House visits from a healthcare professional! Oh! Brave Old World.
    Get Well, Jock.
    And you (not that I don’t think you can do anything you put your mind to) be careful out there.

    Like

    • The doctor came within 10 minutes of my call last week, and there’s a team of 3 district nurses based in our old village 3 km away, who do all the blood tests, dressings, injections etc for the area, even Sundays. They come to you if you can’t get to the clinic. French health care is brilliant.

      Liked by 2 people

  5. Jim says:

    Oh Goodness!! Poor fellow!! Some of the more modern infections, changed by mutation, are so tough and resistant to medications.
    Speaking of resistance, be careful with your driving, build up your confidence, and let that be the only think you knock around with that car. 🙂

    Best wishes to you both, and as they say, “Get Well Soon.”
    ..
    ..

    Like

  6. Mlissabeth says:

    Sorry it is so rough. I hope we both are better next week.

    Like

  7. I’m sorry to hear that Jock is unwell – I hope his recovery keep going well. Well done to you for taking the car out. 🙂

    Like

  8. restlessjo says:

    I don’t know why I just liked that, Viv! Force of habit, I suppose. So sorry to hear about Jock! He is your rock, I know, so you must be distraught. The driving- well, needs must, and at least you now know you still can. Much love and hugs to you both. Hope he recovers soon.

    Like

  9. Karen S. says:

    Oh so sorry to hear, I’m hoping for the best for Jock and you too! Hugs being sent your way.

    Like

  10. Ron. says:

    I would gladly offer myself as chauffeur, if I were there, dear V. Hoping for Jock’s rapid recovery.

    Like

  11. Things can only get better!

    Like

  12. Misky says:

    It’s good to challenge anxieties. It’s not pleasant but it makes us mentally stronger. Good for you, Viv.

    Like

  13. takes courage to dust off driving skills – hope there are no more nasties next week

    Like

  14. Rosemary Bimson says:

    So sorry to hear Jock has been so unwell and hope that his appetite improves with each day. Well done you for getting back behind the wheel as having been there I know exactly how much courage it takes.

    Like

  15. Judy says:

    Let’s hope Jock gets even better! Good for you to drive again!

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

