6-word-Saturday

Experiencing a pathetic no writing patch

dVerse poets’ pub set a prompt to get my teeth into – to write a poem using extended metaphor, but I couldn’t get motivated  

 Red Wolf Poems  gave us some Wordle words:  green,  wine, bloggers, papers, vanilla,  gin, moles, stain (after a boozy party?) and all I could come up with was:

Bloggers who mix wine with gin
will find green stains on their skin

So I think poetry has taken a sabbatical!  I’ve been making Christmas presents recently – fluffy scarves for various small friends, an insulated oven cloth for a friend with burned forearms Yellow ovencloth, 11.9.14 and I’ve started on a knitted baby blanket.  While knitting, I am pondering the next quilting project – there are some mouth-watering fabrics sitting on my workroom table waiting to be transformed.

Have a good week everyone.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in life writing, quilts and pictures and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to 6-word-Saturday

  1. It happens to us all. I have learned not to worry; it always comes back.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. magicalmysticalteacher says:

    Sometimes all you can do is walk away from the writing for a while, but ONLY for a while!

    6WS and Shadow Shot

    Like

  3. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade) says:

    It sounds as if your creative urges are going in other directions, and good ones. I didn’t do the extended metaphor thing either. Had enough other things on my plate lately, and refuse to push myself. Poetry’s my joy; why make it a chore?

    Like

  4. Dawn says:

    Knitting is a good activity until you find your writing mojo again!

    Like

  5. colonialist says:

    For a not write patch, you still don’t go far wrong!

    Like

  6. Kathe W. says:

    sometimes one just has to rest the brain! Cheers!

    Like

  7. You sound very industrious, and organised. I’m sure your poetry muse will return – maybe it just needed a short break. 🙂

    Like

  8. Your muse is hiding around the corner. She’ll jump out and surprise you when you least expect it, you just see!

    Like

  9. Mlissabeth says:

    I know what you mean, but mine has lasted all summer!😦

    Like

  10. Karen S. says:

    Sounds like a fun project! I like the quote too, enjoy your weekend and hopefully your writer’s inspiration will flow quickly across your paper or screen!

    Like

  11. restlessjo says:

    That’s not like you, Viv! 🙂 Change of season or change is as good as a rest? Sounds like you’re busy enough anyway. Take care!

    Like

  12. Misky says:

    A happy weekend to you, too, Viv.

    >

    Like

  13. Jim says:

    🙂 You are spending your off time wisely, Viv. But it will come back, you are one of those people who don’t change, like the “small brown butterfly.” I love that little ditty of yours down a post.
    ..

    Like

  14. Judy says:

    Love your Christmas presents! Writing will come back!

    Like

  15. granny1947 says:

    Just can’t imagine mixing wine with gin…yech!
    Writing blocks are dreadful.
    It will come back.
    You are preparing for Christmas.
    I am impressed.
    I usually panic the day before!

    Like

  16. Ron. says:

    Dry spell here, too, V. Thank goodness for that (fatter than any other file I have) “Works In Progress” file. Edit. Rewrite. Edit. Repeat.

    Like

  17. Debbie Smyth says:

    Sounds like your creativity is taking a different route at the moment 🙂

    Like

  18. Romi says:

    Your Christmas presents sound wonderful.
    Have a good week, too.

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

