1930’s Suburban Miss.

 

Corbusier was  Mum’s hero
everything designed to the nth degree
of angle point and chamfer
so I lived in the ultimate
art deco house
furnished in geometric style
even the cups had triangle handles
carpets were interlocking rectangles
orange on a brown background
the radio a veritable Odeon in Bakelite
the whole zany shebang.

Miz Quickly is on an art deco kick, which took me straight to my earliest days in South London.

.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, life writing, Poems, short poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to 1930’s Suburban Miss.

  1. Imperial
    Palace..
    rooms curve
    Art to squares
    and other
    geometric
    angles gaLore..
    hmm.. i’ll take
    four wAlls and a
    ceiling oFF.. oN to NatUre
    backyard that flows..
    wheRe aLL wiNds
    bLow
    wiTh
    seeD of LiFe..:)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade) says:

    Um, yes, that sounds a bit much!

    Like

  3. Bryan Ens says:

    Fun piece on some crazy style!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sumana Roy says:

    An interesting place surely…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Bodhirose says:

    Your mother sounds like she was quite the modern woman, Viv. I could picture it all, the zany angles and interconnecting colors.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Gabriella says:

    I am not sure how I would have liked all those curves. Your mum seemed to have found her hero indeed!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Orange on brown background — that brings back memories. Very nice take on the prompt. Peace, Linda

    Like

  8. Grace says:

    How cool to live and see the art deco house ~ I would go crazy though as I like a minimalist look ~

    Like

  9. I think the geometry really comes alive in each line!

    Like

  10. Misky says:

    What an enchanting house to grow up in!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I feel that the environment look a lot better than it feels… Maybe all those sharp edges are hard to live with.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Em says:

    I love this! The poem AND the style. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Sherry Marr says:

    Wow, lots of straight lines and angles. It sounds pretty cool.

    Like

  14. Debi says:

    No wonder you are so creatively minded. Music, writing, sewing… that had to have a positive influence.

    Like

  15. Mary says:

    Sounds like a very intriguing place to be!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    Lovely write Viv 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  17. granny1947 says:

    I’m afraid I have absolutely no sense of décor.
    Nothing matches.
    Probably why I am slightly mad.
    I DID say slightly!

    Like

  18. Fun period in design and architecture. We had an exhibit at the museum when I was a docent (of art deco) and I loved showing it to the kids.

    Like

  19. whimsygizmo says:

    Love this, Viv. I woulda gone nuts in that environment. This creative soul craves curves. 😉

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

