Achievement

Half a kilo of hard-won blackberries from the grassy path, a bag of raspberries from the back of the freezer and a box of wizened and worm-eaten windfall apples from the two scarty trees on what passes for a lawn,  produced 8 pots of nice clear jelly today.blackberry, raspberry and apple jelly 7.9.14

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in food, life writing, pictures and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Achievement

  1. I made bramble jelly the autumn before last, and we still haven’t finished it all – and I even gave some away! It was all the better because I had picked the brambles in our local park. I’m interested to see that you have the jars upside down. I’ve not seen that before – is that to ensure there is no air?

    Like

    • Yes. If you turn the jars upside down the moment they are filled (right to the top )and covered, you create a vacuum, thus preserving the jelly longer. You can store them the right way up as soon as they are cool. Jam and jelly exchanges are a regular habit here. We eat a lot of it – in tarts, cakes, on puddings and most of all as plain old bread and jam.

      Like

      • I must remember that tip for the next time I make jam/jelly. So far mine has been fine – I put a little wax circle on top of the jam as soon as I put it in the jar and then screwed the lid on – but I like your idea. Bread and jam is my favourite way of using jam/jelly.

        Like

  2. Viv, you are a true domestic goddess. I love when you post these comforting posts that remind me of how life used to be when we weren’t always running in circles. Yum.

    Like

  3. thehutts says:

    Blackberry picking and 2 dogs don’t mix – but Duncan has managed to get enough for a pie over the weekend as he had help with the dog walking. Hope to get to try some of your jam before you eat it all! Sorry for the delay in planning a trip over. Must get going to get to work – first day in my new temporary job 🙂 Sally

    Like

  4. Jelly? Not jam? Does it keep as long as jam?

    Like

  5. opsimathpoet says:

    Oh VIv – lovely – I’m up t omy neck in blackberries and beans – again! It was nice to see you at the poetry. X

    Like

  6. Misky says:

    Gorgeous! I’m making applesauce from the last of our worm-eaten, bruised apples just now. 🙂

    >

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

