Bird Talk

 

Ms Quickly has us thinking about the language of birds:

Avian Dialogue

Fledgling Ospreys, as father arrives with a trout:

About time too.
We’re jolly hungry –
your fishing is getting slack.
How d’you think we’re going to
reach Africa on these short rations?

Put-upon father:

If that’s all the thanks I get, I’m off.
Time you did your own fishing.

 

You can find the dramatic pictures from the Forestry Commission nestcam in Kielder Forest here.  I didn’t like to use them without permission, and in any case the Osprey blog is a fabulous record of three nests this year, worth more than a mere click to find it.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in short poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Bird Talk

  1. whimsygizmo says:

    As a parent, I get this. In spades. 🙂

    Like

  2. All that has been said is echoed here. I’m sure if birds could converse, you could have captured the sound. Thank you Viv.

    Like

  3. julespaige says:

    Love the photo you shared too. Good for Father! Nestlings gotta learn 🙂

    Like

  4. I LOVE the tone, Viv!! I can see them sounding just like that!! Thank you for the link, too…off to go explore those nests! 🙂

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

