My heart beat is …

 

irregular, which causes some concern
hence came my first bionic implants,
springs to keep the plumbing free.
Alas the syncopation turned
into a slow rubato, with a spondee
anapest or worse, full stop.

More electronic gadgetry’s
inserted in my chest and wired
with cunning to kindle activity.
And now two new contraptions come
to bring dynamics to the party
with sound effects of clarity

Fortissimo, pianissimo,
of music sweet or hearty

Percussive beat can now be heard
though I’m not sure I want to.

I jest, because I’m quite content
to find the beat goes on.

 

For dVerse, where they are writing about “beat” in all its manifestations, which caused me to jot down a few thoughts on the subject:  Rhythm, beat, frequency, regularity or syncopation, caesura or smooth legato. The mood of smooth iambics or anapest, dactyl or spondee.

Someone commented on my comment which mentioned new hearing aids, that “you can hear the ants cough.”  This took me beating to my own beat, hence this poem in (mostly) iambic tetrameter.  The stresses are in bold type.

 

 

 

 

 

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in formal poetry, life writing, longer poems, story poems and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My heart beat is …

  1. Ron. says:

    Here in The States we used to have a TV program called The Six Million Dollar Man about a man with bionics.
    The value of this poetry (and you, dear V) is far in excess of the inconveniences of little implanted contraptions.
    Wonderful work, Viv. I hope you hear me loud & clear.

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

