Original Childhood

Because I’m already on my second or third.  Red Wolf Poems  asks us for a bit of time travel:  in a poem, embrace and share a snippet of the child you were.

The Biter Bit

A sturdy small girl
stomps down the garden in a paddy
to jump with aplomb into the dinghy.
Rocking wildly she picks up an oar
to propel the boat upstream
by paddling over the stern,
her fluid strokes expert,
outrace the chase by angry parent,
She steers skilfully,
leans across the current towards open terrain
on the far side of the river.  Escape. Freedom.

Countless small creatures scent blood,
descend on tender skin for a meal.
Hot itching inflames her temper,
fuels an about turn in search of respite,
calamine lotion and a soothing  touch
from mother, jovial now the wanderer’s returned.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, life writing, short poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Original Childhood

  1. Such freedom! Our children can only dream.

    Like

  2. Wow!! Viv, I couls see every instant of this! What a delightful snippet of such a poignant memory! 🙂

    Like

  3. Pat says:

    Lovely depiction of strong emotions that were hopefully soothed in the end.

    Like

  4. Ron. says:

    Quite the adventurer, Viv. Thanks for bringing us along, but sparing us the actual insect bites.

    Like

  5. Funny… early independence. I ran away from home once. My Mom told me I packed a brown paper bag with my panties (nothing else) and said I was going to my Grandma’s. I didn’t get far cause I got afraid. Thanks for the memories – your and mine.

    Like

  6. Sabra Bowers says:

    Delightful poem. You had me escaping with you! Then I enjoyed the turn of returning to the comfort of home and mother. Thanks for sharing with us, Viv.

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

