I Think

The poets’ pub is going minimalist today, fewer than 40 words.  I’ve written many ultra-short poems – a piku is probably the smallest, (3 lines, 3, 1, 4  syllables) eg 

Chivalry
is
a dying art

feminism
did
it no service

OR

Just for the
hell
of it – Yippee!

but in case those are too short, here’s one of  38 words.

I Think

Beyond the beyond
of  rational thought
lies a land of imagination;
exotic, poetic, quixotic,
a place for celebration.

Beyond the beyond
of the daily round,
change brings  revelation,
worlds untasted,
challenge untested,
no chance wasted
for creative elation.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in short poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to I Think

  1. Three good ones, especially the last.

    Like

  2. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade) says:

    I love them all, particulary the succinct wit of the first.

    Like

  3. kaykuala says:

    feminism
    did
    it no service

    Equality of the sexes is paramount in modern thinking. Such is progress! Great thoughts Viv!

    Hank

    Like

  4. Sumana Roy says:

    I so love beyond and beyond and the yippee….the second one made me smile…

    Like

  5. arathi says:

    loved the pikus..loved your beyond beyond too..

    Like

  6. claudia says:

    smiles… i love to discover the beyond the beyond… and sad that chivalry died a bit – and yep – in a way it’s our own fault – and on the other hand there comes a certain freedom with it

    Like

  7. loved your exuberant Yippee! and the beyond the beyond – wonderful!

    Like

  8. Bryan Ens says:

    These are all great. The middle one really made me smile!

    Like

  9. Chivalry is def a dying art… if not already dead? okay maybe not…

    and loved, “beyond the beyond” 🙂

    Like

  10. markwindham says:

    like them all, agree much with the first..sadly

    Like

  11. Bodhirose says:

    Good manners are just being good human beings…they aren’t gender specific…some people don’t get that though. Love your enthusiastic yippee! And I love beyond the beyond…so peaceful there. :~)

    Like

  12. All three are well done and I love the second!

    Like

  13. Glenn Buttkus says:

    Never bumped into a piku before; short stuff; good exercise really. When I do 3 line free form stanzas I call them “buttku’s”, nudge, nudge; I dig the behemoth, the 38 word humungous poem, & always find myself beyond-beyond.

    Like

  14. I agree with the first line
    the second made me laugh hard…

    and everything else…I love so much. 🙂

    Like

  15. Mary says:

    I think you may be right about the first one, Viv. Sigh. But my grandson who has never heard of feminism will open the doors for anyone!!

    Like

  16. Polly says:

    Love the pikus – and enjoyed the very lengthy 38 worder (!) 🙂

    Like

  17. Am very worried about the first – your words were well spoken and true, and noticed here in Finland. It really is an interesting topic, but worrying. Good fun on second an interesting third, I agree with Bjorn there.

    Like

  18. Susan says:

    Very very cool on #2–it flows like creation itself. #1, I don’t know–it’s poised between regretting the loss of chivalry and accusing feminism … I wonder if you mean it? I’d open a door for anyone, and can’t remember ever turning down an open door that is kindness and grace.

    Like

  19. brian miller says:

    ha. i like the energy of your WHOOP!
    i would agree with the first though…we immasculated men…in some cases
    and pushed others to the other end of the pendulum…i would hold the door for you though…
    smiles.

    and i am all for the elevation of creation.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Love the beyond beyond… What can we ever find there? Or will we even know when we find it ? Or where we were?

    Like

  21. margo roby says:

    Agree with the first, laughed at the second, love the third.

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

