Life Music

 

Tick … tock … tick … tock
maestoso push to be born.

Tickety-tockety tickety-tockety
prestissimo rush to grow up

Tick tick tick tick
andante of humdrum routine.

Click … clack … click … clack
adagio of age and infirmity

Re-wind the metronome.

 

dVerse gave us an eclectic list of suggestions of subjects, the last of which was “metronome”  and asked for a story. This is my life story!

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in life writing, short poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Life Music

  1. Susan says:

    Love! The 4 stages of (wo)man. A metronomic view. Even if it’s just a musical tale I love the rhythm and sense of it, and the idea of rewind? i might pass if given a choice, but I’d be glad if the option was there for others.

    Like

  2. arushiahuja says:

    this seems to speak of reincarnation or rebirth after death…time does run fast… amazing!

    Like

  3. Great poem and life metaphor! My favourite line is: “prestissimo rush to grow up” .. it reminds me of my teenage times.

    Like

  4. I enjoyed your metronome, Viv, and always savor the inclusion of musical phrases in poetry. Takes me back to years of practice of an talent now withered.

    Like

  5. claudia says:

    ha – what a cool riddle björn….and oh that metronome…always giving the tact and pace… i love when things slow down a bit to give space to breathe and enjoy the music of our lives

    Like

  6. Mary says:

    Well, Viv, to me your poem reads like a cautionary tale! Well expressed.

    Like

  7. Sumana Roy says:

    i think we can all relate to this in some point of our life….nicely done..

    Like

  8. brian miller says:

    smiles…cool link to the riddle bjorn….
    my sister used to do piano so i had to listen to time tick away every afternoon….
    at least the metro could be rewound…guess we cant rewind
    our own time…

    Like

  9. Ron. says:

    My current tickticktick is giving way to my click…clack…click…clack. Don’t believe it? Just ask my cane.
    Wel done, V.

    Like

  10. Yes yes.. the metronome.. how should we rewind it ? .. time is like the irresistible force.. I think of Gollum’s riddle here

    This thing all things devours;
    Birds, beasts, trees, flowers;
    Gnaws iron, bites steel;
    Grinds hard stones to meal;
    Slays king, ruins town,
    And beats mountain down.

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

