Elegy

 

O lost strength and vivacity,
where have you gone?
The power to do whatever I chose,
to live life from top to bottom,
playing and loving and working –
I chose all those,
enjoyed everything that came;
relished effort and repose.
Now that rest is all I have,
I ache with hunger
to strive,  to create, to conquer.

 
for Poetic Bloomings

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in Poems, short poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Elegy

  1. catterel says:

    You speak from my heart xx

    Like

  2. opsimathpoet says:

    It is the spectre looming up and the long trail behind – how to sew up the ends and make a coherent pattern out of it all. The thing is Viv that you keep going – that’s wonderful . look forward to seeing you Sunday and at Wendy’s course. XX

    Like

  3. 1sojournal says:

    Yes, your poetry is you and often has a wider voice than you imagine. Thank you for speaking for me and many others who feel the same,

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/

    Like

  4. The waning “strength and vivacity”… I know.. The “hunger to strive, to create, to conquer”… feels like a hurry, hurry. But, you are an inspiring woman and writer and I’m glad to have ‘discovered’ Vivinfrance. Thanks for your beautiful creations.

    Like

  5. Oh for the wisdom of age in our youth, and the energy of youth in our old age. 🙂

    Like

  6. Ron. says:

    I hear you, V. This one’s playing in the background for me almost all the time, these days. I refuse to write about it for fear of making it become true(er).

    Like

  7. restlessjo says:

    Oh, VIv! Your poems make me sad these days. Hugs! 🙂

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

