6-word-Saturday

I can’t believe it’s Saturday already

This week has whizzed by leaving me behind.  

On Tuesday I wrote a poem Renaissance Camp about the most beautiful beach in Britain,  Sandwood Bay.  I picked up next week’s Radio Times to find a trail for Nicholas Crane’s top 5 walks, one of which includes Sandwood Bay.  The series starst Tuesday 29 July, at 7pm on BBC2.

The worst shock of the week has been the price of hearing:  I’m told I need two hearing aids, which will cost 3800 euros, the price of a newish car.   They are tiny.  How can they cost that much?  It has to be a racket – the Secu only reimburses 240. I manage, with the TV on loudish and using the subtitles for dramas with mumbling actors,  and I only miss or misshear about 10% of what is said to me.  It seems absurd to spend so much at my advanced age.

You’ll find other six-worders at 

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in life writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to 6-word-Saturday

  1. Mama Zen says:

    My grandmother just got hearing aids, and I was shocked by how much they cost.

    Like

  2. McGuffy Ann says:

    I can’t believe it is almost August! Time flies, doesn’t it?

    Like

  3. thehutts says:

    and just to rub it in I get my hearing aid for my left ear free on the NHS with free supplies of batteries! Once you get them you also have to remember to clean them – mine gets blocked now and again and doesn’t work. I know they are blocked when I don’t hear the whistle as I put it in but it doesn’t whistle once it is in my ear!
    You don’t know how much you are miss hearing until you have those aids 🙂
    Sally

    Like

  4. Kathe W. says:

    summer always seems to go faster!

    Like

  5. I agree–it is a racket. And the reality is that so many people make this investment and then they can’t stand them so they just sit somewhere in a drawer. I’m sorry you have to deal with that.

    Like

  6. Linda H. says:

    I feel the same way…Saturday rolled around quickly this week! 🙂 Life seems to be doing that a lot as I age! Sorry that hearing aids are so high. My hubby just paid 9,000.00 for tooth implants! Yikes! Everything costs so much these days!

    Like

  7. Tonya Jastad says:

    Both my parents, while in their early 60’s bought hearing aids from “a friend in the business” to the tune of about $7000.00 each person! The kicker though, they only wore them for a few months because they didn’t like them! UGH!!! They really need them now and won’t buy new ones. I apparently didn’t raise them well… I hope you find a solution that makes you happy.

    Like

  8. arushiahuja says:

    AWW well… thats too much!! id rather by a car!! 🙂

    Like

  9. Karen S. says:

    The week has as always, especially in the summer gone by too quickly! Sorry about the cost, but when one thinks about it, I know I’d be willing to pay what ever it took to be able to hear! Well worth it. Of course on those moments in life when you wish things were still, and peaceful- take them away! Enjoy your weekend…nice and slow!

    Like

  10. Judy says:

    Ours has been one of those weeks as well. No trouble sleeping though!

    Like

  11. Jim says:

    Well Viv, if it will help you any, my calendar says “Saturday” also.
    Yes, that is the main reason I don’t have some H aides myself. (Second is that I’m a guy and kind of like the chatter down.) They are that here, good ones are over $3000-5000 each for the most. My insurance pays $500 with free batteries. I may qualify for Veterans Administration fully paid ones so I soon will be checking that out. My fingers are crossed. I hope you could find some price relief.
    My friend bought some mail order aids @ $250 for both. They work but don’t have too many bells and whistles (pun??, that is terrible when your hearing aid actually whistles).
    ..

    Like

  12. magicalmysticalteacher says:

    I do hope you find a way to overcome the outrageous cost of those hearing aids.

    My Six Words

    Like

  13. Ron. says:

    I almost did the “Saturday again already” post, too, V! Great minds in synchronicity, eh?
    I know technology can be expensive, but you’d think they’d find a way to make such important tech more affordable. It’s crazy.
    Good luck with that.

    Like

  14. I can’t believe the cost of those hearing aids. Shocking!

    Like

  15. Romi says:

    Time seems to fly where I live, too.

    Like

  16. That really is shocking, Viv.

    I SAID, THAT REALLY IS SHOCKING, VIV!

    I bet you’re going to get a lot of jokes like that today 🙂 xx

    Like

  17. restlessjo says:

    How much???? That’s obscene, Viv!
    Must check out the walk 🙂

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

