Resignation – Wordle 169

One lacklustre morning,
the sun eclipsed by millions of pewter clouds,
I sulked in my room.
A manufactured collection of heterogeneous words
grabbed me by the throat and squeezed.
Euterpe, the cheeky muse of lyric poetry,
took a hike – shot off her mouth
to the first sympathetic person she met,
complaining that I wouldn’t come out to play.
I sighed (side, geddit?)
and gave honours to the wordle maker.

 

 

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, nonsense poems, really bad poetry, wordles and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Resignation – Wordle 169

  1. Pamela says:

    Concise, Viv. Yes, sometimes the words do leave us feeling that way.

    Pamela ox

    Like

  2. This is a cute take on the word list! It made me smile.

    Like

  3. I wondered if you’d change the spelling of ‘lackluster’… 🙂

    Like

  4. Bastet says:

    Brilliant … feisty muses can be so useful … glad you battled onward – this fun poem is a great reward!

    Like

  5. Wow…what an economical use of the words!

    Like

  6. kaykuala h says:

    It worked it certainly does! It pays off very well, Viv!

    Hank

    Like

  7. 1sojournal says:

    I am beginning to wonder if the words were easy, if we’d even bother anymore…I think we do enjoy the battle on some level. I like what you accomplished,

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/

    Like

  8. Nara Malone says:

    Loved this. I took my poetic frustrations on a waltz with the muse too.

    Like

  9. The giver of delight blended disparate wordles minus muse, leaving those of perusing pleased and amused. Thank you 🙂

    Like

  10. jae rose says:

    But how wonderfully those heterogeneous words fell together…

    Like

  11. colonialist says:

    At the end, there, you were just putting on side. 🙂

    Like

  12. Ha! Cute twist. Thank you.

    Like

  13. oldegg says:

    You make it seem like a battle with the word maker but in composing your piece you showed that undaunted you could front up and give us a laugh.

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

