Campfire’s Burning

 image from Google

A gaggle of girl guides
ging gang goolied
without a clue what it meant.
We came round the mountains
wearing pink pyjamas.
A big baboon by the light of the moon
combed his golden hair
while riding on a donkey.

We found a peanut, ate worms,
carried water in a holey bucket
to the quartermaster’s stores,
and sang of the explosion of Sambo
from too much fizzy pop.
We laughed with a Kookaburra
up a gum tree
and finished with Courtesy –
our favourite campfire song.

We grew quietly sentimental
as flames dwindled safely
into a heap of ashes,
sang Taps
and went to bed.

In response to a camp fire prompt  at Creative Bloomings, which had my head buzzing with songs from long ago, to most of which I can remember all the words.

 

 

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, life writing, song lyric and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Campfire’s Burning

  1. ging gang goolied – I had to look it up to see if you’d invented those fun words. Your poem is delightful and fun. Made me smile.

    Like

  2. I remember some of these, though I was never a Girl Guide. I was a Brownie but I don’t remember camping.

    Like

  3. Ron. says:

    I, too, remember most of these, V, but couldn’t place “Courtesy.” Google came up with a couple likelies, but…. hmmm.

    Like

    • by Hilaire Belloc: Of courtesy it is much less than courage of heart or faithfulness, yet in my walks it seems to me that the greatest of these is courtesy. There is a lovely melody, too, but I couldn’t find a youtube of it. I could sing it to you!

      Like

  4. this is just delightful. Reminded me of a kind’s song I started singing the other day as we drove by so many fields of cabbage here in Alsace. “Savez-voux planter des choux…”

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

