Dearest Faddah – wordle 168

Panting up the thousand-pedal hill
rain hammering on my cycling cape
arms out searching for escape
eyes blind with ragged temper tears
cooking over a flickering candle
sleeping cold on  rock-hard ground.
It’s a simple no-brainer to explain
why I’m on a mission to ban camping:
Weather
and image change: someone invented glamping.

glamping pic

Glamping-  definition from Oxford Dictionaries, image from here.

A form of camping involving accommodation and facilities more luxurious than those associated with traditional camping: glamping is likely to satisfy any city slicker seeking a little refuge in nature—without foregoing any of life’s luxuries. 

Two birds with one stone:  Wordle 168 (where I didn’t manage to use Ghosts)  and day 6 at the camping challenge to write a ten line poem belying  what we hate about camping. The first nine are our complaints;
the tenth line is the “Oh, never mind, this place isn’t so bad.” revelation. 

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, nature poems, pictures, wordles and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Dearest Faddah – wordle 168

  1. thehutts says:

    You introduced us to camping and I have never lost the love of it. Now I prefer a few creature comforts now and again but do not like to be fixed to one spot so its camper vanning for me. Still enjoy the odd wild camp in a tent though. Sally

    Like

  2. restlessjo says:

    Love it, Viv 🙂 Thought I’d landed in the middle of the Tour de France for a minute. Yorkshire did them proud. Speaking of which, I never camped, but spent many happy days at the Crow’s Nest caravan park near Scarborough.

    Like

  3. Tee hee–this had enough hardship without adding ghosts! I can’t imagine camping anymore. They would need the jaws of life to get me off the ground, out of a sleeping bag! Glamping…maybe.

    Like

  4. kaykuala h says:

    That can be most fun getting the best of both worlds! Fun with all the glamour thrown in. How nice! Wonderful write Viv!

    Hank

    Like

  5. Glamping is the life for me! This is a winner!

    Like

  6. Today it has rained most of the day so glamping would be a lovely relief from sleeping on the side of the road in the van – indeed!

    Like

  7. 1sojournal says:

    Never went camping until middle age and loved it, even though it was hard on the physical level. But, your glamping sounds like something I’d willingly dive into even now. I get a wee taste of that sitting on my sister’s back patio…all the comforts and all that nature.

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/

    Like

  8. humbird says:

    Thanks for introducing lamping! Very interesting write 🙂

    Like

  9. annell4 says:

    Camping can be a very spiritual experience…

    Like

  10. magicalmysticalteacher says:

    Like you, I did a lot of camping as a child. Unlike you, I’d like to try it again, after a long absence! 😉

    Whirling with Walt

    Like

  11. oldegg says:

    I’m with you too, I did a little as a boy and that taught me to avoid it like the plague as an adult. A holiday should be infinitely better even than home not worse!

    Like

  12. jae rose says:

    Oh yes..glamping over camping any day..although the tears and tantrums..and sore legs I imagine were remembered.. perhaps even with a certain fondness – all character building stuff!

    Like

  13. Misky says:

    I’ll take that sort, thank you!

    >

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

