Golden Rain and rockets

The Granada Camp for Wayward Poets prompt today is for a  fireworks poem for the fourth of July; theFrench National Day, with fireworks,  is quatorze juillet, and there will also be fireworks for the Fête Saint Pierre carneval, in our old village on 12th July and Fête Saint Clair in our new village the following Saturday, so 

© photo from July 2011, taken by my son Robin James Smith

We shall feast with pyrotechnics
all the way through July
with oohs and aahs
from most of us
and Jock will wonder why?
He’s a firework philistine.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in life writing, rhyming poetry, short poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Golden Rain and rockets

  1. thehutts says:

    I love to watch them but they are a nightmare for stock and pet owners so I can also empathise with Jock! sally

    Like

  2. So funny!! I had to look up philistine to get this but then when I did…I thought…I’m a little like that, too. Sometimes. Nice traditions!

    Like

  3. Misky says:

    LOL! I love this.

    >

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

