THE GRANADA CAMP FOR WAYWARD POETS – ADVENTURES at Creative Bloomings

creative bloomings summer camp challenge badge

Creative Bloomings is taking us to camp in a July Challenge to write every day.  My literal mind came up with this.

Holiday time

Unpack the tent to find a hole.
Mend the tent.
Pack the tent.
Pack some food
and something to cook it in,
eat it from, wash up in;
wellies,  waterproofs,
sleeping bags,
rugs and warm clothes.
Maps, musical instruments
and lego in the car
to amuse the kids on the journey.

Hang on a minute.
Must I?
Couldn’t I
have a five star hotel
with en-suite bathrooms
and someone else to cook
and make proper beds
and clean up after me?

No.

The story of my life.
Oh well, I can dream.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, humour, life writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to THE GRANADA CAMP FOR WAYWARD POETS – ADVENTURES at Creative Bloomings

  1. thehutts says:

    I don’t like hotels – no freedom to go and do what you please. Camper van is the way we holiday at the moment although we did wild camp with 3 boys in 2 tents earlier in the year. S

    Like

  2. Claudsy says:

    I can so relate to this and that was only last year. 🙂 Good one, Viv.

    Like

  3. b_young says:

    Oh, I’m with you on this. Luxe showers, fluffy comforters, white, white towels. Room service. Yep, beats trecking to the toilet with a flashlight.

    Like

  4. Misky says:

    I reckon there comes a time when a girl just has to say ‘enough is enough, and sleeping on a rock just doesn’t cut it anymore’. 🙂

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

