The Dancing Lesson

 

Forward, side, together,
Forward, side, together
Turn
left foot back,
rock on the spot
Turn and repeat
and repeat and repeat.
Flirt if you will,
converse if you must,
but forward, side,
together again and again
until the music slows.
Twirl around and around
til giddy.
Stop. Curtsey.

The prompt by Tony Maude at dVerse   is to play  with repetition. I am late to the Bar, so just a little one.  Do go and see what others have repeated.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, short poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to The Dancing Lesson

  1. Oh yes… i see those painted foot-soles leading the way.. excellent way to use repetitions.

    Like

  2. You embodied that prompt fully, ably, and led it with grace. In doing so, you ensured I got to as well.

    Like

  3. I enjoyed the movement and rhythm of this, underscoring the pictures you created. Clever use of repetition. 🙂

    Like

  4. claudia says:

    very nice… learning to dance is a challenge but so much fun when we finally swing around on that dancefloor… fun piece..

    Like

  5. Tony Maude says:

    Dance classes – a perfect setting for repetition. Nicely played, Viv 🙂

    Like

  6. And with you I would waltz across France. What fun that would be! Loved this – charming.

    Like

  7. Smiles, you took me back to those preteen years of cotillion and Robert Bland with the clammy hands. Fun.

    Like

  8. I needed to come to the Bistro and share this dance. Thank you, Viv. Always a pleasure! In spite of my left foot and my other left foot!

    Like

  9. Oh I remember that dance step. How i used to love dancing back in the day!

    Like

  10. Sumana Roy says:

    a sweet take on the prompt…all the lines reflect happiness…

    Like

  11. brian miller says:

    so much fun dancing….even if you are dancing challenged…ha…this was fun viv…

    Like

  12. Mary says:

    Ha, sometimes I think dancing like this is a lost art!

    Like

  13. Ha ha, I was never good at this kind of dancing even with the repetition…the flirting made me flustered. Nice take on the prompt!

    Like

  14. together again and again – I think that may be why dancing is so popular!

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

