The Island – wordle 165

165

Against a porcelain sky the dark silhouette
of the cliff looms over the landing beach.
The rock chimney splits to form the path –
a tantalus to my helpless drifting.
It seems to pulse forward and back,
near, then out of reach.
The ever-present wind-whistle
drills into my head a fervent wish for silence.
In a pit of frustration,
unable to fight the riptide,
I long for slack water.
Alert to the slightest loosening of the sea’s grasp,
I scrabble to slot the oars in readiness.

Fortunes change.  A breath of stillness.
Go, go, go. Heave hard.
Six strong strokes and I am aground.
With the last dregs of strength,
I drag the sturdy coble over the pebbles,
secure her to the cone of rock above the tide line –
old habits die hard.
Scramble, panting, up the path to the house,
breathe deeply: home at last.
Kettle on for that longed-for cup of tea.

 

I am reading a book about the remote Shiant Islands in the Hebrides off the coast of NW Scotland:  Sea Room, by Adam Nicholson.  It is beautifully written – to quote from it, “a vast poem written in heat and liquidity.”  So you can see where the inspiration for my Wordle poem comes from – the wordle words shouted at me!  I used all the words, then changed drink to cup of tea because that would be my need.

 Do go and see what others do with the words here  

 

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, prose poem, wordles and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Island – wordle 165

  1. thehutts says:

    Did you finish the book? I thought you were taking it but it is still here! Sally

    Like

  2. I agree that old habits die hard and that the cup of tea brings u home, lovely piece and it really grabs the reader, hope you feel the gentleness of the air near you

    Like

  3. Pamela says:

    Outstanding wordling, Viv. Beautiful piece.

    Pamela ox

    Like

  4. magicalmysticalteacher says:

    I really like the images of the grasping sea, and the longing for slack water. Such tension here!

    Quirky Quartet

    Like

  5. Thank you for sharing your inspiration. It just made my summer reading list, along with your poems, of course. 😉

    Like

  6. 1sojournal says:

    Glad you made it, both figuratively and literally. Must thank you for your high words of praise this morning. I really like how caught up you got in the making of this piece. I feel that energy and that good tired when the journey is completed. Well wordled Viv,

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/

    Like

  7. humbird says:

    ‘old habits die hard.’ ~ also they save us in difficult moment…~ intense write!

    Like

  8. cecilia says:

    I grew up on a beach, I think this is why I love this poem. The sea is not always a simple place to be. c

    Like

  9. annell4 says:

    It is wonderful to come home again.

    Like

  10. This is a beautiful piece! As one who lives around and works on the ocean, I loved it!

    Like

  11. oldegg says:

    This indeed is a great sea tale. How much can be said of her moods and the trials she set us and of the sheer joy of coming home.

    Like

  12. Jae Rose says:

    i love how you bring this poem home – on so many levels..we always have to try and keep those oars moving..the rhythm matches that sense too..

    Like

  13. Three cheers for the kettle!

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

