White-tailed Eagle

The Sea Eagle

So many years since
last I saw this place,
place of my birth and hers.
Six long years to grow –
grow and gather my adult strength.

From a great height I found her
Now I must woo her –
dance the sky dance again and again,
Flipping my wings to roll over and over
from high to low in a graceful stoop.
I hope she’s watching.

What’s that above me,
that swoops fast towards me,
big and rapacious,
more than my match?
Buzzard tenacious
but I am determined
in love to be strong.
Wings entangle
roll over and over
falling fast, I struggle to stop,
extricate from the knot.

Shake free triumphant,
resume the skydance.
Now I am ready,
ready to mate.
father my brood,
hunt their food,
fight off intruders,
guide the next generation
on their long way.

White-tailed Eagle chicks by Justin Grant. from BBC Springwatch, 11.6.14

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, prose poem and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to White-tailed Eagle

  1. The chicks are so ugly but so cute. And what magnificent creatures they will become.

    Like

  2. I love the perspective and voice you employed, Viv! Exciting and vividly told. 🙂

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

