Fallacy

Pretzels and Bullfights at dVerse Poets Pub today is on track of modernism, taking for example In a Station of the Metro, a two-line poem by Ezra Pound.   

In-a-Station-on-the-Metro

I am frequently infuriated by reading a poem that has gone on for about 200 words more than it should have, so  I’m all for brevity in poetry. 

An analysis of the poem linked heresays  “The poet is watching faces appear in a crowded metro (subway) station. You wouldn’t know it only from reading the poem, but we’re in Paris, which means that everyone looks really nice.”    

Fallacy

A Metro Station in Paris
is a very crowded place –
all human life is there.
It could contain a lovely face;
not only but also
an ugly mug or two or a million
fat bodies, thin, tall, and short.
Squinting could distort the view
to make them  blurred
but there’s no way,
or so I’ve heard,
that every one  looks really nice.
I’ve said it once, I’ll say it twice,
two lines do not a poem make
that’s true in nearly every case
but once in a while I’ve found,
synchronicity or Pound
occurs to create a little miracle.

 

 

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in ekphrastic poetry, nonsense poems, really bad poem, rhyming poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Fallacy

  1. The metro is a phenomonem all its own. And then comes August when your nose is no longer planted in someones armpit! Or at least that’s how it was when I was there.

    Like

  2. colonialist says:

    There is some wit in this brevity!

    Brevity,
    Not levity,
    It is true
    I don’t do.

    Like

  3. b_young says:

    Oh, yeah! (says the one whose lines go on, and on)

    Like

  4. Uh oh…you know half of my poems are three lines are fewer… 🙂

    Love what you did here, taking the statement and the poem and responding to them.

    Like

  5. catterel says:

    ABSOLUTELY Viv – I echo every word!

    Like

  6. oh well done! I am in awe of the variety of verse you write and always with a touch of humour and wisdom.

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

