Boondoggling

 Dictionary.com’s word of the day seems to describe what I do:
Boondoggle:  A verb, defined as being to do work of little or no practical value merely to keep or look busy

To pass the time I pootle and fiddle,
write footling poetry to exercise my brain –
rather as Jock carves his umpteenth chain.
I sew scrap quilts that no-one needs,
look out of the window, watching weeds grow,
watch daytime telly of little merit
shouting the answers to Pointless questions,
boondoggling the day away.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in life writing, nonsense poems, really bad poem, short poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Boondoggling

  1. Hello, Viv. I’ve just had a week opposite Lindisfarne on a solitary retreat – a whole week of bondoogling (I usually avoid gerunds). The puffins on the Farnes were fabulous. The whitethroats sang at midnight. The hawthorn oozed perfume. The mud in the bay popped and clicked. Bondoogling! There should be more of it.

    Like

  2. Sorry that are down. I too feel that way but your beautiful poetry speaks volumes to our souls. Keep writing. I remember you from a few years ago. You still have.

    Melanie
    bd

    Like

  3. Ron. says:

    I feel for you, V. For what it’s worth, right now, even though I should be loving what I do (& have done for several decades), it feels like a total boondoggle.

    Like

  4. Oh sorry to hear you are feeling down. Sending you a gentle hug and looking forward to when we can next visit

    Like

  5. Misky says:

    I’m very much hoping that you wrote this in good humour …

    Like

  6. Thank you for introducing me to this excellent new word…love your examples. 🙂

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

