One Beautiful Morning in May

wordle 159

One Beautiful Morning in May

It seems as though the path runs through three seasons –
where just three weeks ago the foliage was sparse,
now  banks are full of flora in abundance.
Fauna also leaves its evidence –
I stumble over mid-path lines of molehills
and a badger sett shows signs of a springclean

For company, my shadow and a blackbird
who sings his courting heart out, free, for me.
I trudge through fluff of fallen pussy willow,
see  violets from March still here and there.
Rosettes of knobbled primrose leaves I see,
though February’s buttery flowers are gone.

Campion, dandelion and pignut flourish
side by side with early foxglove spires.
Umbrellas of froth, cow parsley rubs shoulders
with bracken, unfurling fronds of autumn promise.
Flashes of light flicker through the trees,
arouse the scene to joyful life once more.
© Vivienne Blake 04.05.14

When I saw the Wordle words this week I thought Yippee, a lovely easy one, and I planned to write a Spenserian sonnet from them, but somehow the poem took off, using only a handful of the words and no rhyme at all.  The walk was today and it was truly beautiful! If I had managed to write a sonnet, it would have been more in the style of John Clare than Spenser!

Now I’m off to see what others have done with them at Brenda’s Sunday Whirl.

Monday 5.5.14:  Ever since writing this poem on Sunday, the title has been whizzing round in my head, in a song sung by my Mum at family gatherings, “One Day When We Were Young…   The song was originally from Johann Strauss’ Operetta known as the Gipsy Baron, and was later used in the film The Great Waltz.  I tried to get a You-tube clip but couldn’t get the sound to work.

Later…Here it is: One Day When We Were Young

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, life writing, wordles and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to One Beautiful Morning in May

  1. DELL CLOVER says:

    So many gorgeous phrases in this!

    Like

  2. Sabio Lantz says:

    a beautiful tour — thank you

    Liked by 1 person

  3. kanzensakura says:

    Oh how I enjoyed this walk with you – all the creatures and flowers who came out just for this walk. I thank them for their kindness in letting you see so much of their often private lives so you would tell us all about this. it worked for wordle and it works for beauty prompt at dVerse. Happy happy!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. MarinaSofia says:

    The joy you have in nature and your close observational skills are so real and delightful. It reminds me of Wordsworth or of Robert Bly. Full of the hope and promise of spring!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What a perfect word-painting this is. You took me right along with you so that I could share the wonderful experience of those seasons converging. Very sensory.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Glenn Buttkus says:

    Gosh, I envy your knowledge of flowers; always a joy to hear such floral wisdom. In the NW of WA state, early Spring can be three seasons on the same day, hail, frost, sunshine, & thunderstorm. Quite the show.

    Like

  7. claudia says:

    nice.. i love spring and all the new life it brings… there’s beauty in a well woven rhyme as well

    Like

  8. wolfsrosebud says:

    such joy and beauty in your words… the subject of spring does help

    Like

  9. Mary says:

    Delightful poem, Viv. I like the idea of the path running through three seasons. How quickly things do change in spring, don’t they? What a joy to watch this happen. I really enjoyed all of the details of nature you included here. Happy spring to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. How beautiful to walk in such abundance.. such intensity when spring finally comes.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Hooray! You freed yourself from the wordle! Don’t get me wrong, I love them; but I never let them rule the poem…as I may have nagged you about upon occasion 🙂

    Lovely poem.

    Like

  12. ManicDdaily says:

    Lovely– one is especially conscious of the very beautiful words for all the plants you describe — very musical! Thanks. k.

    Like

  13. colonialist says:

    That takes us very Viv-idly on your walk – and I wanted to use that word before I punned it!

    Like

  14. Viv, I so love your beautiful description……..and envy you the pussywillow. It is plentiful by the beach but hard to come by here in the valley. This year at a farmer’s market I bought a bunch which graces my bay window now, making me happy.

    Like

  15. Isn’t Spring just wonderful!

    Like

  16. whimsygizmo says:

    Just gorgeous, Viv. You took me on this walk with you. Thank you.

    Like

  17. Pamela says:

    Viv, thanks for sharing your beautiful walk. Nice poem.

    Pamela ox

    Like

  18. Bastet says:

    So full of spring and happiness…loved it!

    Like

  19. Ron. says:

    Never heard of pignut before. Great stuff, V.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. kkkkaty says:

    Such a pleasure to read …love how you used the words in the prompt in this!

    Like

  21. This is so visual, Viv and my favorite part is this, “For company, my shadow and a blackbird
    who sings his courting heart out, free, for me.” Excellent wordle, Viv!

    Like

  22. oldegg says:

    How beautifully evocative this is. It reminded me of the time I lived in Britain.

    Like

  23. Laurie Kolp says:

    Beautiful, Viv!

    Like

  24. No matter what anyone has done with these words, they would surely pale to the wonder you’ve written here. I am awed!

    Like

  25. This is lovely, but it made me a little sad. Here in Maine, we are way behind you. Boo, hoo! It is coming our way though.

    Like

  26. What a wonderful sharing of spring.. we have not gotten this far yet .. but spring is on it’s way… I really enjoyed your poem… hope to read a Spenserian sonnet later on..

    Like

  27. CC Champagne says:

    A very beautiful description of your spring… It awakes in me, who is in all likelihood on a more northerly latitude, an ache for all those summer flowers… *ahhhh*

    Like

  28. Jae Rose says:

    The beauty of that walk really shines through..it has a wonderful rhythm..excited..thankful..and full

    Like

  29. Sabra Bowers says:

    I enjoyed your morning walk. My backyard is lined with molehills and I love seeing, in all seasons, flashes of light in trees. Well wordled!

    Like

  30. This is beautiful, Viv. Thank you for sharing your natural world with us. The world is waking up, and your words make me want to get out into it (even though it is a dreary drizzly day here). 😉

    Like

  31. cecilia says:

    I love this. You have named so many of the wild flowers and plants, so as well as a poem you are teaching me! Have a lovely day ViV.. c

    On Sun, May 4, 2014 at 8:28 AM, Vivinfrance’s Blog wrote:

    > https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com posted: ” One Beautiful Morning in > May It seems as though the path runs through three seasons – where just > three weeks ago the foliage was sparse, now banks are full of flora in > abundance. Fauna also leaves its evidence – I stumble over mid-path lines > o”

    Like

  32. 1sojournal says:

    I can’t walk far and certainly not anything but slowly. So, I deeply appreciate your sharing your morning walk with me. It’s gloriously picturesque. Thanks for the treat,

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2014/05/03/resurrecting-harmony-and-invention/

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

