Six Word Saturday

Jock’s chain starting to look linked

For an eighty-year-old, Jock is showing no signs of weariness or slowing down:  he works on his chain morning and afternoon, coming in from time to time to tell me that he has given birth to another link.  Here’s an idea of progress so far, which shows how the links are made.

???????????????????????????????

 

???????????????????????????????

??????????????????????????????? ???????????????????????????????

step 4 first link born

the birth of more linksprogress 30.4.14

 

In the evenings he  works with the team in a cold hangar, creating a replica of a turreted Chateau  for our Carnival Float. (photos when it’s done.)  At the moment all I’ve seen is weird shaped bits of wood disappearing out of the garage! 

My projects are not worth shouting about:  I made a complete mess of the baby blanket I was crocheting. Having run out of wool I bought some more, but the colour lot was different, and showed up abominably.  I tried dying it with weak tea to disguise the difference, with disastrous results.  Blanket abandoned.  So I started knitting a blue baby cardigan, only discovering a mistake in the printed pattern after two evenings of work, so it’s back to square one

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in Jock's projects, pictures and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Six Word Saturday

  1. I love Jock’s chain (again! I am privileged to have seen the first one in person – amazing piece of work).

    Sorry about your frustrations.

    Like

  2. restlessjo says:

    So, now I know 🙂 I remember the chain. It’s magnificent! 🙂 No quilting?

    Like

  3. thehutts says:

    That is going to be a longggggg chain – amazing. Our Six Word Saturday – ‘Started with indecision, then into wilderness’
    http://huttsatwork.wordpress.com/2014/05/04/camping-before-the-midges-arrive/

    Like

  4. judyt54 says:

    Viv, the process involved in carving that chain is fascinating–sort of like the man who carves an elephant out of stone by taking away all the stone that isnt’t elephant! what an impressive piece of work that is.

    and yes, some days its best just to put all the projects AWAY and go read a book. =)

    Like

  5. Jim says:

    🙂 I too like Jock’s wooden chain work. That takes special patience. I am glad for yoo, Viv, that you have a patient husband. Especially enough to help calm you when the knitting goes badly. (I love Missbeth’s ‘Frog’ remedy!)
    We spent a morning in le Harve Friday. It is a lovely little town even with cold and blowy weather to endure. We came from trans Atlantic and disembarked in Southampton yesterday.
    We thought of you folks but we knew we hadn’t planned or arranged for that. Besides we both caught a crude that wouldn’t be nice to you. Glad for the pretty young lady from Paris working at the “Green Crosis” store who could find some Actived for us from behind her counter.
    I’m not doing much blogging on this holiday. But I read when I can, you get special treatment because of the ‘thinking of you’ experience this week. Last Monday I wrote of our horse episode experience and posted it for Open Link Monday.
    ..

    Like

    • We live about two hours from le Havre but have only ever seen the ferry port and industrial estuary of the Seine. Am I right in assuming that you crossed the pond by ship? That sounds like fun. What are your plans for this trip? I hope you have some good weather this time.
      V

      Like

      • Jim says:

        Thank you, Viv. We will be with the kids and grands for the rest of May. But their lease is ending and we will travel a bit then. Wales, Northampton friends, and Bengan (Nor) we think. The last ten days stay with the girls while they arrange things in the U.S.for moving back to the states.

        Like

  6. Allison says:

    The chain looks amazing! How is the blue baby cardigan going? I lack talent in both areas, but have recently started exploring watercolor.

    Like

  7. Well I never! What next? An anchor – then the rest of the Mary Rose?

    Like

  8. Kathe W. says:

    absolutely amazing! wowow! I’d like to see your project once you have dyed it a dark blue! Cheers!

    Like

  9. Melanie says:

    That is so amazing. I showed it to my kids and we’ve been googling similar stuff all afternoon. That’s so talented.

    Like

  10. Mlissabeth says:

    I love this new chain he is crafting. Did you frog the baby blanket to try again with something else?

    Like

  11. Kate Beamish says:

    Love the photos of the chain!

    Glad Jock is so well. How are you feeling?

    Mum’s 80th went really well – she seemed to enjoy it anyway. Fran wrote a very good ‘This is your life’ and it didn’t go unmentioned how she treated you as a child!!!

    Love

    Kate

    _____

    Like

  12. That is fabulous. Good luck with the knitting. I am currently knitting Wonky Donkeys, toys which friends have donated to https://spana.org/ a British Charity working with working animals in Africa. Trouble is they have already donated, and my deadline approaches 🙂

    Like

  13. Tonya Jastad says:

    What talent you both have! That chain is wonderful!

    Like

  14. Karen S. says:

    Your photos of his work, just as magical!

    Like

  15. Karen S. says:

    What beautiful talent, this is so exceptional.

    Like

  16. McGuffy Ann says:

    This is just amazing. I love this. Jock is amazing.

    Like

  17. bookmammal says:

    That chain is AMAZING!
    I admire you for your crocheting craftiness–unfortunately I was NOT born with the crafting gene!

    Like

  18. Judy says:

    Oh dear I can sympathize with the problems you have with knitting and crocheting. I finished a baby outfit as well as a blanket this week.

    Like

  19. Misky says:

    Peder and I are BOTH thoroughly impressed with this project and the craftsmanship. Amazing.

    Like

  20. Romi says:

    The chain is amazing!
    Thank you for sharing the wonderful photos.

    Good luck on your crocheting project.
    Have a great weekend.

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

