Wordle 158 – a farrago of nonsense

O monstrous muse
release me from these wordle chains
leave me in a channel of beauty.
So many words I deprecate
but to use them is my duty.
You sprinkle a few unrelated terms
and dare us fools to use them.
Me, I cheat the beastly things
and try my best to lose them,
speak them aloud to hear what rhymes,
what branch of poetry to choose,
which cancerous thought to eliminate,
which red herring  disseminate
by beading words together
in a manner indiscriminate.

O monstrous muse, I’ve chewed them all,
emancipated those not fit for use
manipulated others by a ruse.
The time has come to terminate.

I dare say others at the Sunday Whirl will have skilfully formed this motley lot into a real poem.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in nonsense poems, rhyming poetry, wordles. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Wordle 158 – a farrago of nonsense

  1. Mama Pajama says:

    I love it! well wrangled.

    Like

  2. Andy Sewina says:

    Good choice of words, love the finality of the last line!

    Like

  3. Pamela says:

    Viv, I gave up a long time ago trying use all the words. I now look at them for what they are; a springboard to get me writing, that in itself is an accomplishment at the moment. You did a fine write here on the anxiety one might feel when attempting use all of the words.

    Pamela ox

    Like

  4. Ah, beading words together is a perfect description of what we do, Viv! This is a fun piece.

    Like

  5. 1sojournal says:

    I remember, not too long ago, being the one with all the wordle angst. Now, I have spent a month creating them to drive others crazy, lol. And still, I would have to agree with you, they are fun, especially the angsty ones.

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2014/04/26/dialogue-with-my-dragon/

    Like

  6. magicalmysticalteacher says:

    Just don’t terminate yourself, OK, Viv? 😉

    If the Branch Could Speak

    Like

  7. Laurie Kolp says:

    One of my favorites of yours, Viv!

    Like

  8. I love your rants against the wordle words! You are a gem, Viv. Thanks for writing at the Whirl each week. I agree, it is fun! Although, sometimes the words elude me. Your opening line pulled me right into your piece. 🙂

    Like

  9. oldegg says:

    How often I feel this way with prompts but still soldier on. Our excuse is of course “it’s not me it is just the prompt!”

    Like

  10. drpkp says:

    Hahaha – great fun for a Sunday morning 🙂 Thank you 🙂

    Like

  11. Ron. says:

    Aye, the dreaded Wordle. I never go there. Well done, V.

    Like

  12. CC Champagne says:

    Oh, come on! This is a real poem if ever I read one, and it also really portrays my dread every week (well, OK, I’ve only been doing this for three weeks) when I go to look at the words! Well done!

    Like

  13. Stanski says:

    You have to give it as good as it gives you… and you do!

    Like

  14. Jae Rose says:

    I think you showed them what for! 😉

    Like

  15. Why do you torture yourself? 🙂

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

