Come with me, little girl

Mum’s always telling us
not to talk to people we don’t know,
not to get in strange cars.
And just in case of an unforeseen hitch
which stops her coming to fetch us
she’s given us a password
we must ask for.

A man said, outside the school
”Your Mum can’t come –
her car’s broken down,
she says you’re to come with me.”

I said back to him, ever so politely,
”Please give me the password
so  I’ll know that what you say is true.”
He um-ed and ah-ed
then climbed in his car.
and drove off furiously,
as we ran home, happily.

PS the password was secret

 

Napowrimo wanted a poem for a child yesterday.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Come with me, little girl

  1. How scary. Wise mother–even back then when we were kids and life seemed so much more innocent, I suppose it wasn’t.

    Like

  2. ManicDdaily says:

    Very scary. But clever password. I just read of a little boy who was kidnapped in a car for three hours and he wouldn’t stop singing gospel music. The kidnapper apparently got very frustrated, but thankfully, instead of hurting him, just put him off on the side of the road.

    Like

  3. colonialist says:

    Very good poem, idea, and valuable lesson all rolled into one!

    Like

  4. Ron. says:

    My Beloved Sandra tells me that when her daughters were young, she set up the same system. After they had agreed on a password (elephant), her younger daughter–after some moments of consideration–asked, “Okay, elephant. But how many guesses do they get?”

    Like

  5. Misky says:

    What a brilliant password. My mum didn’t have a car, she didn’t learn to drive until she was 60, so that broken down car story wouldn’t work on us. 🙂

    >

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

