Napo Day 15 – it gets worse

Down Beneath The Roots of Things
This list of words has been nagging at me since the first day Elizabeth posted them, so I decided to knock them on the head once and for all. 

No Thanks

Reincarnation is a great idea
so long as I can choose
the form and age and era.
Anything would be better
than being Joan of Arc at Rouen,
her life devoid of hope.

To be a gardener could be pleasant,
with an interest in rare plants,
and a boy to deal with the weeds
I’d wear flannel in the winter
and rub my back with jelly
to defend against lumbago.
Oh – a bad back – a  frisson
of fear ripples through me.

No, I think I’ll change my mind,
I won’t come back at all.

 She also asked some questions, to which my answers were succinct:

1. Can you define, describe the meaning of one of the words, by using some of the others?   NO.
2. How can you celebrate the sound of these words. READ THEM ALOUD
3. What would a ripple affect read like?  A GRAMMATICAL ERROR

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, humour, really bad poem, wordles. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Napo Day 15 – it gets worse

  1. colonialist says:

    Sound and grammatical error – very succinct! 🙂
    anything: age, reincarnation …

    Like

  2. julespaige says:

    I like what you did. It didn’t seem a struggle. I don’t think I’d want another go round at this point. Don’t even want to relive the life I have had – more or less have things the way they ought to be.
    Nicely done.

    Like

  3. 1sojournal says:

    Lol, Viv, you had a good time with the words and that’s what really counts. This piece is not “pathetic” as you called it. It is direct, honest, has a beginning, a middle, and an end, plays well with the words, has some very good and vivid visuals and retains your signature stroke of impish humor. I’d say that ain’t bad at all. You play well and always allow your reader to participate. Hats off to you, my friend.

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/

    Like

  4. Misky says:

    I completely agree. Odds are I’d end up under someone’s foot, or sprayed with insecticide.

    Like

  5. well you knocked them on the head “right good” as they say in Prince Edward Island!

    Like

    • 🙂
      I’ve just been having a run-in with Orange, who are still sending our bills to the old address. Their “Chat” service was a hoot, but no use, so I’ve been hanging on the telephone, where the options they offer to tapez 1, 2 etc were completely irrelevant to my query. I think it’s sorted now – the human voice to which I was enfin connected had the correct address in front of her……
      Reply

      Like

      • oh my! I absolutely HATE those “telephone trees” where tapping 1 or 2 ad infinitum never yields you a real human being! My brother once met a representative of the cable tv company while out somewhere and spoke to him about this issue to which the man responded “we really don’t care how frustrating it is for the customer”. Glad you got things sorted out though time will tell if bill arrives at new address next month or not!

        Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

