Half and Half News

Kind Miz Quickly has been giving us wonderful prompts all through the grind of Napowrimo.  Today’s is a cracker:  Write something that’s half-and-half, in-between, two-tone, or not quite what it seems.

My mind went immediately to those horrible shoes so fashionable in pre-war films.

 image via Wikipedia – correspondent shoes, also known as 

Spectator Shoes

Half and half news
adultery shoes
brown and white –
what a sight.

If I were to sin
it wouldn’t be in
correspondent shoes ~
too conspicuous, right?

 

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in humour, rhyming poetry, short poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Half and Half News

  1. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    Weren’t they worn by Dandies?
    Fancy-boys done up
    In Zoots?
    Always wise
    To stay away
    From Dapper Dans, eh Toots?

    Like

  2. Just love it, Viv–adultery shoes?! I confess, I rather liked spectators. Especially women’s heels. Guess I am old.

    Like

  3. TeeHeeHee! I never heard them called correspondence shoes.

    Like

  4. This gave me a good laugh Viv! X

    Like

  5. cecilia says:

    This poem sings! I want some sinful shoes But Gumboots will have to do .. c

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

