Triversen for Napo day 14

Miz Quickly suggested we write a triversen for day 14, a quixotic form which I couldn ‘t take seriously:-

Each stanza equals one sentence.
Each sentence/stanza breaks into 3 lines (each line is a separate phrase in the sentence).
There is a variable foot of 2-4 beats per line.
The poem as a whole should add up to 18 lines (or 6 stanzas).

Triversen

For day fourteen
we should be writing sonnets
with exactly fourteen lines.

Why are folk afraid of sonnets,
when they’re so simple to do
in a variety of ways.

At the last count
I’ve written about forty
some good, some very bad.

Petrarch set the form
but Shakespeare
re-defined it.

There’s Miltonian, Byronic,
Clarean, Australian,
or even  Supersonic.

That’s a joke
by the way –
I can’t write that fast.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in formal poetry, formal poetry, humour, nonsense poems, really bad poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Triversen for Napo day 14

  1. Ron. says:

    Never heard of it, V, but clearly, you nailed it. I might try one soon. Thanks.

    Like

  2. You make me almost want to write one, Viv! If it were a little earlier in the day…my brain might cooperate.

    Like

  3. whimsygizmo says:

    Ha! This is great, Viv. 🙂

    Like

  4. colonialist says:

    I couldn’t play triversen pursuit. Sonnets suit me better!

    Like

  5. julespaige says:

    Thanks for a fine example of the Triversen. I’m am a tad afraid of the sonnet. I might be clever occasionally about stringing a few words together… but I lack the more formal poetic graces.
    I haven’t tried this yet. I have to make a quick errand and then maybe I’ll give it a go.

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

