6-word-saturday

Chain in the making, poems galore

To combat boredom, Jock is carving another chain from a three-metre length of beech wood.  Every now and then he comes in from the garage to say he’s given birth to another link.  He brings in sawdust and shavings on his feet as proof!

Poems for National Poetry Writing Month are trickling out, but nothing of quality, so it was cheering last week to have a short poem chosen as Poem of the Month by Second Light – you can read it here  The judge, Hylda Sims said flattering things about the poem.

I’ve also been putting together collections for submission, (one of them a group of 20 sonnets), written three new poems for a project on how we feel about higher education, and and and – it’s been a busy week.

You can read what other six worders have been doing here

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in life writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to 6-word-saturday

  1. Congratulations again!

    Sorry I’m so behind but I’m slowly catching up on all of your posts. I wish I had been as productive!

    Like

  2. Viv, sorry I’ve been absent. First the gremlin (and you’re right: TAKE MY MEDS so matter how bad I feel, that’s part of his strategy, to make you forget them), and then poor Riley lost a good friend in a senseless accident. So it’s been a haul.

    This cheered me up. I love your SWS entries because they always give a bit of “the news” and some common sense. I also see NaPoWriMo (which I didn’t do, for obvious reasons!) as a chain all its own, as though you could copy each poem and make a chain of all the poetry… Best, Amy

    Like

  3. colonialist says:

    I didn’t know that boredom could have a chain reaction!
    Well done on the flights of fancy, where coming back to earth was the winning formula!

    Like

  4. You have multiple linking children, Viv! Congratulations 😉
    I love the way your words paint vivid images of feathered wildlife, your Birdwatching is beautiful.

    Like

  5. McGuffy Ann says:

    I would love to see that chain! Good for you on your poetry, too!

    Like

  6. Romi C says:

    I am curious to know what the chain looks like.
    And congratulations on your poem of the month!

    Like

  7. Karen S. says:

    How fun, I bet he’s really proud and excited over his creations!

    Like

  8. Judy says:

    Wonderful work by both you and Jock.

    Like

  9. restlessjo says:

    I’m all agog to see this carved chain! Come on, Viv! Get the camera out 🙂
    Meanwhile I’ll go and read your poem.

    Like

  10. Wayne. says:

    It is always nice when written work get recognized. Well done!

    Like

  11. gillena says:

    congrats!!!

    please share at my blog on Tuesday 22nd April – ‘Earth Day’ and Thursday April 24th – ‘A Poem In Your Pocket Day’, there will be a linky on both those daysunch Break, i invite you to stop by and link up; oh, and please share at my blog on Tuesday 22nd April – ‘Earth Day’ and Thursday April 24th – ‘A Poem In Your Pocket Day’

    much love…

    http://myblog-lunchbreak.blogspot.com/

    Like

  12. Ron. says:

    Conga rats on the POTM, V! I especially like the gull and kestrel stanzas. I’m not faring so well on the poem-a-day deal; may give it up in favor of concentration on more serious work.

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

