Mythology

We write Poems is delving into mythology today.  As a child I revelled in the tales of the Greek and Roman heroes in Arthur Mee’s children’s encyclopaedia.  But life has changed my views, especially during the last ten years or so.  I’ve learned to avoid watching news of conflicts – anger, stress and grief are too harrowing, too debilitating.  So my poem is a tiny attempt to debunk a myth.

It’s a masculine myth
that fighting rights wrongs.
They write songs,
tell stories,
talk of glory.
But they’re wrong:
war brings misery to most
while enriching the few,
though writing could help right wrongs.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in politics, re-blogs, rhyming poetry, short poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Mythology

  1. Personally I’m sick of war. A hero’s struggle is one thing. Unmitigated hostility, murder, and death are another. Great observation, Viv.

    -Nicole

    Like

  2. Irene says:

    True of course. But it’s no myth that it’s good for business.

    Like

  3. So true, even the few time war is necessary it is not glorious.

    Like

  4. I so agree. I’m doing a course right now on classical myth…not a big subject in Catholic school. Ha! So much war and violence. And on it goes.

    Like

  5. restlessjo says:

    Really couldn’t agree with you more, Viv. 🙂

    Like

  6. colonialist says:

    I agree with the sentiments except as relating to the gender. Feminine militants may not be quite as large a proportion, but they are certainly vociferous!

    Like

  7. Misky says:

    I can so empathise with your views and avoidance, and your poem is a gentle and kind reminder of why we self-censor.

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

