On a Clear Day

 

I will do the washing,
all the big things,
hang them on the line.
Drying in the garage
has been the norm this winter
but today, out on the line
quilts will be flying,
efficiently drying
in the fresh Spring breeze.

 

Inspired by Elizabeth Crawfordls word list, asking for a poem from a song title.  We have nowhere to put a line here, but I reckon when I wash the quilts I will peg them to the fence, so that passing traffic can have a patchwork show!

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in Poems. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to On a Clear Day

  1. Ron. says:

    I can see clearly now: a bright sun-shiny day…

    Like

  2. colonialist says:

    The gaily flying flags
    Of newly-washed glad-rags?
    Only that wouldn’t include quilts. 🙂

    Like

  3. 1sojournal says:

    Love the way that fresh air smell stays in the fabric for a while. Good stuff,

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/

    Like

  4. I love the freshness of this poem, the fresh air of spring. Just so uplifting.

    Like

  5. opsimathpoet says:

    I like this Viv and am glad that you are writing and also patchwork washing – I am about to wash the patchwork cushion covers you made. On this version you have left out the last line Oh joy and I think the whole poem insists that this is joy, it’s better without saying it! I also wonder if you need ‘the norm’ – can’t think how else you can say it but the rhythm is lovely in the poem and itgoes a bit flat at this point. love X

    Like

    • thanks Brigid. the joy has been in and out like a hokey cokey. In the end, I remembered Rosie Bailey’s advice about my OTT last lines! I can’t think of another way of putting the norm which is any better rhythmically – if I do, I will change it, because you are right!

      One of my poems has just been selected for poem of the month at Second Light: the first success in ages! It really cheered me up.

      Like

  6. Misky says:

    Oh I am with you on this; nothing more satisfying than drying clothes naturally, outside on a line!

    >

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

