Lineation Plea – Napo 2

When
did this
fashion
start
for
ultra-
short
lines
in poetry?
Staccato
stanzas
impossible
to read aloud?
Do
all these
poets
have
inch-wide
notebooks,
for single word-width
lines inside?

There were  eight hundred and fifty
responses at Poetic Asides
for the first day of Napowrimo –
many of them very, very thin,
far too many to do all but skim.

An art evolved to let a poem flow
in natural rhythm, logical lineation,
to let a poem sing aloud its meaning.
So I would ask you all with haste to go
and study carefully the glorious sonnets
of the bard, the much-loved William Shakespeare
to see how every line can be an entity,
and how a perfect poem should appear.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in rants, really bad poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Lineation Plea – Napo 2

  1. Oh, hah! Yes, I quite agree. But perhaps it’s just because I am inordinately wordy, tending perhaps too far in the other direction. 🙂 A delightful read!

    Like

  2. Alice Keys says:

    sometimes
    I want
    to say
    too much
    only
    short lines
    keep me
    in check

    Good one, Viv. 😉

    Like

  3. *Cough* I’ve always written short lines… 🙂

    Like

  4. I love the Haiku form as it makes me deliberate over every word. I agree it is not so good for reading aloud but a good Haiku can be deeply affecting when read.

    Like

  5. restlessjo says:

    Do you agonise, cross out, rewrite, Viv? They always seem to flow so naturally from your pen.
    Years of honing the skill, I guess- and a certain facility with words 🙂

    Like

  6. I agree. Not a huge fan of those linear poems, but now and again they work…based on the content, like yours. :0)

    Like

  7. 1sojournal says:

    Viv, only you could write it so well, and say it so clearly,

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2014/04/02/sorcerer-2/

    Like

  8. colonialist says:

    Oh, I
    do
    so agree
    this is
    done
    too lazily!
    As for when it gets much worse
    Is when here you’d add a … swearword
    For no rhyme nor reason.

    Like

  9. kaykuala says:

    many of them very, very thin,
    far too many to do all but skim.

    That is true Viv! All seem wanting to get it over with. The simpler the better! No denying it’s the first day so this must be the required warming up. The Bard’s sonnet will be coming later I’m sure! Thanks for the reminder Ma’am!

    Hank

    Like

  10. “So I would ask you all with haste to go
    and study carefully the glorious sonnets
    of the bard, the much-loved William Shakespeare
    to see how every line can be an entity,
    and how a perfect poem should appear.”
    oh yes!

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

