Blank Verse for dVerse

Every would-be poet  should read Tony Maude’s prompt at the dVerse Poets’ Pub today = he gives the rationale and method for writing rhythmic poetry that doesn’t have to rhyme.  I wrote Exercise in Iambics a while back, but it rhymes, so doesn’t fit the prompt. I also wrote a (mostly) unrhymed blank verse sonnet in iambic octameter, Florence Remembered way back in 2008, my first attempt at formal poetry, but in the spirit of the Pub, I feel obliged to write a new one.

This one fits my mood.  I have been slothful  far too long, for health reasons, but alas, it is not new.

To idleness

To gaze on landscaped beauty without thought
it’s good to lie and wonder what to do
knowing there’s no need to do a thing,
that nothing must be done about it, NOW.
Those weeds will still be there when I am stirred
to leave my life of lassitude and sloth
to write a sonnet freely, without rhyme
or discipline of metre – apathy.
I can’t shuck off compulsion to use rhythm
by inference a form of laziness.

However calm, laid back and ultra cool,
idleness goes nowhere, knotless thread,
a life of indolence however free
the antonym of creativity.

 

so, on with the motley:  new rhythmic blank verse:

 

The sky is grey as a long-washed bra
that shames when straps are seen.
So I cover up with polo-necks
or scarves with fancy knots.
But I digress, I’ve lost the thread
of thought that I began:
winter skies depress me so
I think I’ll hibernate next year
and not emerge til Spring.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in formal poetry, free verse, nonsense poems, Poems, sonnet and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Blank Verse for dVerse

  1. scotthastiepoet says:

    Hi there Viv, Of your recent pieces, this one caught my eye the most – especially loved the first two lines:

    “The sky is grey as a long-washed bra
    that shames when straps are seen…”

    Perfectly chiselled – Brilliant! With Best Wishes Scott http://www.scotthastie.com

    Like

  2. Ina says:

    Those are both lovely 🙂

    Like

  3. Two good ones, Viv; especially the second.

    Like

  4. Akila says:

    nice ones. you capture the mood well. by the way, i see a rhyme in the title and of course, a rhythm 🙂

    Like

  5. Mary says:

    Oh, winter depresses me too. I am all for hibernating all winter!!

    Like

  6. Glenn Buttkus says:

    Here in the NW coast, gray/grey is like most every day, and some people suffer from SAD, a very real emotional disorder. I grew up in WA state, so the 10 years I spent in CA made me bored with smoggy sunshine every day, made me pine for the WA rainy days. Nice job.

    Like

  7. The metaphor of the sky like a bra will linger with me for a time… I have noticed my wifes they turn grey after a while… no matter what you do…. scarves would help..

    Like

  8. kkkkaty says:

    Funny and oh, so, true….to do nothing and rest afterward??? 😉 Love the bra metaphor!

    Like

  9. claudia says:

    smiles… an ode to idleness… yeah… a bit idleness here and there is balm for the soul and a creative force… and ha… that bra… now go and get a new one with flowerprints all over…smiles

    Like

  10. Barbara_y says:

    Grins on the bra, Viv.

    Like

  11. colonialist says:

    I have never known the sky to be compared to bosom-bags before!
    I found much of interest in that piece of Tony Maude. He is certainly not of the school that seems to think you can take any chunk of writing and turn it into poetry by splitting the lines up a bit.

    Like

  12. billgncs says:

    The metaphor of the bra and straps was cool

    Like

  13. Brian Miller says:

    nice rhythm for sure….and i think i will def hibernate for spring…if it is going to drag on like this years……i too like the allusion to the bra you are trying to cover up…well played…

    Like

  14. Misky says:

    Gazooks, I’m wearing one of those sky-grey bras. Now I’m tempted to toss it. And your sonnet is deliciously lazy and relaxed. Lovely.

    Like

  15. Tony Maude says:

    Both lovely, smoothly flowing pieces, Viv .. but from your pen, I’d expect no less … smiles. I love the sky as grey as a long-washed bra, that’s an image I’ll not forget in a hurry.

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

