Colour me Happy

twisted-trees_thumb.jpg

Cerulean, a beautiful word
for a heavenly colour of sky
When Spring once more
colours me happy,
when fluffy white clouds
speckle the coverlet
my sombre winter mood will fly.

The colours of summer are golden
and green of budding trees.
Massed brightness of flowers
splendorises the garden,
gleefulness fizzes in children’s eyes
happiness rules the  skies
and the beach beckons.

???????????????????????????????

The colours of Autumn
dazzle with the glow
of yellows and reds
until the air becomes full
of a kaleidoscope of falling leaves

liquidambar 9.11.12

Gray is the colour of winter
until the miracle that is snow
puts a shine on a dingy world.
Never think that snow is merely white:
look again and see purple, blue,  yellow
brought to sparkling life by winter sun. snowy pear tree

 

This is a poem written some years ago, a re-blog with new illustrations,  in honour of the first prompt at dVerse by Abhra Pal, about the colour festival Holi, also known as Basanta Utsav.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, pictures, re-blogs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Colour me Happy

  1. Smile worthy words 🙂

    Like

  2. Susan says:

    Wonderful romp through seasons of color.

    Like

  3. lynndiane says:

    You captured the changing palette of the seasons beautifully in both words and pics…lovely!

    Like

  4. Mary says:

    Viv, I really like what you did with the prompt. Each season evokes different colors…and both your photos and poem evidenced that. I especially like what you did with ‘summer.’

    Like

  5. restlessjo says:

    Nothing I like more than being coloured happy, Viv 🙂

    Like

  6. claudia says:

    ah each season has its own spell and color… even winter with its hues…so true… beautiful pics as well… and re your question… in this case the sketch was first…smiles

    Like

  7. Love your palettes… and cerulean is one of my favourite words as well .. for me the poem felt brand-new… and I agree with the snow – all colors to be found there…

    Like

  8. kelly says:

    Lovely… I especially love all the colors of snow you describe, so true.

    Like

  9. wolfsrosebud says:

    i like the energy of summer

    Like

  10. I’ve never liked the word ‘cerulean’, I find it clumsy.

    But I’m glad you’re happy 🙂

    Like

  11. Brian Miller says:

    nice walk through the seasons viv….my fav is the swirling whilrwind of color in autumn….
    def hoping those blue skies of spring are not too far away…
    too much white in my world right now….smiles.

    Like

  12. Misky says:

    Completely charming, Viv.

    >

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

