2000 MM

What a blatherskite I must be to have posted 1999 times on here. This is my two thousandth, which I wanted be something special – a smooth sonnet perhaps, in Shakespearean style, or a meaningful villanelle – but ideas have I none.

I looked along my bottom bar – which serves as a notebook for me and found some quirky words lurking, waiting for the right line to hide them: confuddled, reflects my current state; querencia, a happy place from which our strength is drawn, where we can feel at home. But no poem came.

I found the seed of a poem there, too – a start, but so far nothing has grown:

Camels can’t thread needles
So why is the Bank of England
located on Threadneedle Street?
No camels there – only rich men.

image – one of a series of camel embroideries by Jock Blake

This nonsense doesn’t make a poem so these ramblings come to an end with a big thank you to all my  followers and readers for your  kindly comments over the last three years and to all the prompt sites which kick me into writing so much poetry.  Here’s to the next 2000 posts.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in life writing, nonsense poems and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 2000 MM

  1. bulldog says:

    2000 just seems a “Bridge too far” ,,, congratulations…

    Like

  2. Many congratulations!

    And I love this poem – so funny and true.

    Like

  3. Congratulations on your 2K x

    Like

  4. neil reid says:

    would only a blatherskite use that word? (oh oops!) but you know how really dear you are held by this scattered community. it feels good to be within your realm of purview. simple as that. and besides, your little seed above is a small sweet delight. yea, 2000 more, yes please. neil

    Like

  5. rosross says:

    Sometimes the only response to life is nonsense.

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

