Village Show

“The first prize in the Victoria Sandwich competition goes to Mrs Smith. The rise and flavour were both impeccable, and the strawberry jam filling was home-made.  I did wonder – did you doctor the recipe? I caught a tinge of cinnamon.”

“Oh no, Madame Chairman. I wouldn’t do such a thing” fingers firmly crossed behind my back.

This was the truth: my only sin was to use my Bendix mixer, so the only thing I added was air.

a 77-word story for Colonialist’s challenge

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Village Show

  1. cecilia says:

    Air! what a delightful addition and lovely story! 77 words is hard work.. c

    Like

  2. restlessjo says:

    I think they had that cake on the counter of the tea shoppe in the Victorian Street. 🙂

    Like

  3. colonialist says:

    A beautifully-used 77 words! One really gets the atmostphere. And the flavour! 🙂

    Like

  4. Congratulations….I’d love to win a prize for cake making. When I look at my sponge cakes I realise that I have a long way to go:)

    Like

  5. Misky says:

    Strawberry and cinnamon is actually a very tasty combination!

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

