Words

Words manipulated into poems,
weave magic images to delight;
puns are words tortured and laboured,
into a comic juxtaposition of ideas;
spoken in honeyed tones – words soothe;
spat with venom – love dies.

for Trifecta, who have given us this definition of the  word  MANIPULATE :  to change by artful or unfair means so as to serve one’s purpose : to doctor  and asked us to use it in between 33 and 333 words.  As usual,  I chose to limit myself to 33.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Words

  1. Viv, thanks for your good wishes, and the same right back at you. The final two lines are amazing. True and well said. I hope you and Jock are faring all right. Love, Amy

    Like

  2. A poem that cuts right to the chase. Your last line is the brutal truth!
    I’ve been doing the ’52’ poems on fb as well – a bit intimidating, but a great challenge.

    Like

  3. brigid sivill says:

    Missed your blog for a long time Viv – so good to find it again. Hope that you are keeping well. I have been doing the 52 poem a week (closed group on Facebook) – it has nearly 400 contributors now – you might enjoy it. It’s been good for me because I am so bad at putting stuff out. I am interested in the way the language works too – been trying, under the 52 influence – to write more specifically and down to earth – close observation has been good for me! Off for the second knee today so my head will no doubt go to mush again for a bit but I look forward to more mobile and intense poetic work soon. Love to you both X

    Like

    • Good luck for the op. You will soon be skipping about like a 5-year-old. When does Phil get his new hip?

      Can you give me a link to the group? I’m doing less on the blog, but trying to do it better! So often I post poems and then find that they were merely embryos of poems that need developing.

      Like

  4. C.C. says:

    I love words, and this particular combination of words is exquisite 🙂

    Like

  5. Your last two lines juxtaposing each other are truly effective, Viv. Well done!

    Like

  6. colonialist says:

    Hoy! I resent the implication that I subject words to slavery and torture! 🙂

    Like

  7. Bodhirose says:

    Words definitely can carry venom and manipulate…well done, Viv.

    Like

  8. theinnerzone says:

    Outstanding lines. Enjoyed reading it.

    Like

  9. Alice Keys says:

    Wow. What a biting poem, Viv.

    Like

  10. Pamela says:

    Love this, Viv. And the last couplet speaks volumes. Have a lovely day. Mine is just beginning.

    Pamela

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

