Baboushka

I’ve been worrying my socks off about the tortures of cold affecting people in the Arctic weather of parts of the US, and knitted this fleece-lined quasi-balaclava for Celie of The Kitchen’s Garden, to keep her ears free of frostbite.  It will be in the post tomorrow.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in life writing, pictures and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Baboushka

  1. dianeandjack says:

    Just love the hat!!! It will keep Celi and anyone else fortunate enough to have one toasty warm!

    Like

  2. That is the sweetest hat I have ever seen and you wear it so beautifully 😀

    Like

  3. Nanette says:

    Gorgeous hat, sweet little elf face peeking out……Celi will be very warm

    Like

  4. Dear Viv, I wish I could help out the frozen North East. It’s so warm here in Calif. I went without socks yesterday. Love the scarf.

    Like

  5. colonialist says:

    Crowning glory! It actually looks cute, but when it comes to cold who cares as long as it’s warm!
    SAlcrocHet?

    Like

  6. Connie says:

    That’s looks really warm. Just what she needs out on the prairie where the wind sometimes howls!
    The Post Mistress

    Like

  7. cecilia says:

    That, my darling,is just the hattie for me! It will keep me very cosy.. I love how is comes right around the face.. blowing a gale this morning, with blowing snow mixed into the wind, very cold, I really am looking forward to this hat, and the big fat ties will be crossed and tucked into my jumper at the back, for added warmth around the neck. I do get a cold neck. Thank you so much Viv! You know exactly what i need. Wonderful.. c

    Like

  8. 🙂 – sorry, but could not help laughing! You are beautiful – and so is this “hat” 😉 🙂 Carina

    Like

  9. So cute! I like your ideas for the name!

    Like

  10. lyndafnolan says:

    What a lovely Hat!! I am sure Celi will get a lot of wear out of it. Did you follow a pattern or just make it up? I am knitting a ‘Sweater Jacket’ at the moment, but it is frustrating me as the pattern is less than clear. had to undo a couple of hours of work yesterday as I realized what they were really trying to tell me ARGH.
    Lyn

    Like

  11. a great arctic cold hat for sure.

    Like

  12. thehutts says:

    Mum that is great – you need to copyright it! I am going to be selling some crochet phones and ear warmers at the Hemmel Cafe Allenheads from next weekend on a sale or return basis and need some help with a business name. Creative Crochet and Random Crochet are all I have come up with at the moment but they are too general. The name has to be short as I will have to hand write it on price tags with washing instructions etc. Something incorporating my initials (SAH) would be good. Take Care Sally

    http://www.thehemmelcafe.co.uk/

    Samples of my work can be found on facebook here:
    https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.241439992585690.61037.100001590727934&type=1&l=5937c74eb5

    Like

  13. Misky says:

    She will love that, and by the way, you’re adorable!

    >

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

