Surprise Surprise

The first time I saw a whale shark
very close to me,
with his mouth as wide as can be
to scoop up the soup
that is the sea,
I flipped my lid in fright
at the sight.

Trifectra wants us to make a 33-single-syllable-word piece starting with the phrase “The first time I saw…”  This is a true story, but it was Jock not me at 5 metres under the Indian Ocean on flippers and snorkel and it wasn’t fright, it was delight, but that’s 2 syllables!  The whale shark is a gentle giant which can be up to 40 feet long.  It is a filter feeder, on plankton.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in life writing, rhyming poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Surprise Surprise

  1. And still the whale shark is like a gentle giant… (if I recall correctly)

    Like

  2. Scooping up the soup is just a fantastic line. Thank you for linking up.

    Like

  3. Draug419 says:

    Whale sharks are one of my favorite animals! I love this.

    Like

  4. jannatwrites says:

    I think I’d flip my lid, too!

    Like

  5. I grew up by the Ocean and have a healthy respect for it and for the creatures who call it home. Glad you were able to so expertly put a humorous spin on such an encounter. 🙂 Well done.

    Like

    • We have a very healthy respect (and love) for the ocean, and were both qualified divers. (23 years ago). Jock (also a rescue diver) was in the boat with a group of rookies when they saw the whale shark. None of them had yet put on their BA and tanks, so they all bailed over the side on snorkel alone for an experience that will stay with them all their lives.

      Like

  6. Lauren says:

    Wonderful piece. The image is fully developed in such a few words.

    Like

  7. Poetry and facts fun, fun, fun! or should I say a whale of a good time 😉

    Like

  8. I LOVE the phrase, “the soup that is the sea,” such a neat mental picture!! I can nearly see curly noodles floating at the surface!! 😉

    Like

  9. Haha Love this, Viv!

    Like

  10. colonialist says:

    I think they have given any number of people a very real fright before they realised that they were not menu items for this particular giant!

    Like

  11. Misky says:

    We watched a program on telly last night about huge catfish that swallow birds whole. Yikes!

    Like

  12. cecilia says:

    wow, what a sight that must have been.. c

    On Thu, Jan 16, 2014 at 10:31 AM, Vivinfrance’s Blog wrote:

    > https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com posted: “The first time I saw a whale > shark very close to me, with his mouth as wide as can be to scoop up the > soup that is the sea, I flipped my lid in fright at the sight. > Trifectrawants us to make a 33-single-syllable-word piece starting with the > phras”

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

