Purgatory in French and English

Le temps c’est adagio
en brèves et semi-brèves
jamais prestissimo pour moi
et surtout jamais vivace.

La vie à peine crepite sans couleur
Mais chaque fois que je me trouve ici,
emballée de tubes et de fils,
j’ai un an de plus.

******

The tempo is adagio
in breves and semibreves
no prestissimo for me,
and never remotely lively.

Life barely creeps by,
colourless and tedious.
Yet each time I find myself here,
enmeshed with tubes, wires and pills,
I am another year older.

Home again, feeble but free!  Sorry it starts in French – I had to translate it, as after 4 days exclusively in French, that’s how it came out.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, life writing, short poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Purgatory in French and English

  1. Viv, good poem, but even better is you being home again. Stay well.

    Like

  2. hats off to you for great French poetry and most especially for being back home.

    Like

  3. You’ve made my day, Viv. I’m so glad you are back. Stay well.

    Like

  4. Eha says:

    NO!!!! One simple word! A much more complex meaning!!!!!!! with love . . .

    Like

  5. catterel says:

    Great to have you back and verifying – your grandson leapt into the breach most capably and in a manner befitting his heritage! Stay well, Viv. Take care. Hugs xx

    Like

  6. Pamela says:

    Viv, with everything going on here, I didn’t know you were in the hospital again. Dear god, woman, I hope they got the medication correct this time. Please take good care.

    Pamela
    ox

    Like

  7. cecilia says:

    Love love darling.. a package is on its way to you.. fingers crossed the american post is an efficient as the french one! c

    Like

  8. I’m so happy that you are back home!

    Like

  9. colonialist says:

    Glad you made it home safely after your ‘holiday’. I see almost more Italian than French …
    and you left out the ‘and certainly never lively’ line in translation!

    Like

  10. Misky says:

    Glad to know that you’re home.

    Like

  11. Alice Keys says:

    Viv,
    Thanks to your grandson for the information post. That was thoughtful of him. This poem is great in French and in English. I can’t imagine knowing enough French to write poetry in French. It sometimes comes out in French but I can’t spell worth a darn. So I give up in it and go back to English.

    I’m glad you’re better and home again. Be well.
    Alice

    Like

  12. Are you ok ? Have I missed an instalment? Hope you feel better soon x

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

