6-word-saturday

GOOD NEWS WHEN I NEEDED CHEERING –

A week when I haven’t been feeling so good (ticker playing up AGAIN) I’ve had two pieces of news:  a poem, Diminuendo, accepted for a new anthology  The Book of Love and Loss, edited by June Hall and RV Bailey – a poem I wrote about 4 years ago, and had previously submitted all over the place without success.

And Walt of Poetic Bloomings gave me a Beautiful Bloom today for an onomatopaeic poem, Noises Off, that I’d forgotten to post here this week  Do go over and read RJ Clarken’s wonderful narrative poem Noise – it bowled me over.

But I’ve been worrying about all those folk in the Arctic extreme of  large swathes of the USA  – specially as recounted so beautifully in Celie’s The Kitchen Garden blog, where she reported that “a starling was seen sitting next to a chicken sitting next to a pig” huddled together for warmth.

Her photograph of the Sun Dog phenomenon  was startling, and inspired this, which may remind you of a certain song from the Sound of Music!

Sundogs on snowfields
and starlings with chickens.
Raw eggs iced solid
and dogs that are jigging.
Togetherness rules
through the chill Arctic storm,
as a mishmash of animals
keep themselves warm.

She keeps them from harm
by much hard work and effort.
Good food to nourish them,
heat lamp for comfort
Is it surprising
they give her their love?
In her barn is serenity,
peace from above.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in life writing, rhyming poetry, song lyric and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to 6-word-saturday

  1. Jo Woolf says:

    Congratulations, Viv! I hope that you are feeling a lot better now.

    Like

  2. Kathe W. says:

    thanks for referring us to http://thekitchensgarden.com/ It truly is a lovely blog! Cheers!

    Like

  3. hilary says:

    Congrats! what great news!

    Like

  4. Mlissabeth says:

    Congratulations on publication and recognition of your poetry. I appreciate your poem as well. I heard that yesterday was the first day above freezing in 2014 in my area.

    Like

  5. Gillena Cox says:

    Vivienne my congratulations; have a nice Saturday

    much love…

    Like

  6. Judy says:

    Wonderful news to be published. Keep that heart ticking so you can write more.

    Like

  7. Good news, Viv, congratulations 🙂

    Like

  8. Jim says:

    🙂 I took your ‘sun dog’ literally while I was reading this, Viv. We were down to 15F here in the cold but no sun dogs. I wonder if there is warmth in the real item, a phantom bright spot in the cold and ice?
    ..

    Like

  9. cecilia says:

    How wonderful! and thank you for directing me back here this morning, it is a mucky slog out there now (than goodness for my crampons) and your poem makes it all worth while! Hope you and jock are tucked up warm.. c

    Like

    • Despite the NE wind, it’s a beautiful day here, and we wrapped up well and walked to the village, as he’d asked for a coffee walnut cake and I needed ingredients. I’m off to start baking. No energy, but needs must when Jock requests! PS the hat is really taking shape, and I’m now adding the scarf bits. You will laugh when you see it!

      Like

  10. bookmammal says:

    Congratulations to you–well done!
    I’m one of the folks in the “arctic swath”–but today we’re getting a reprieve–temps should be above freezing all day!

    Like

  11. Connie says:

    What a grand poem..love it!
    The Post Mistress

    Like

  12. Karen S. says:

    Oh do take your medicine! I really enjoyed your poem today, take good care of you!

    Like

  13. Misky says:

    Such fun to read that poem, Viv, and well done on your recent Bloom and submission. Good fortune comes in threes, right? One more coming, by my count.

    Like

  14. Ron. says:

    You crack me up, V !
    And kudos on placing Diminuendo. I know the feeling. I have one (that I consider one of my masterworks) that I can’t get ANYONE to take; I keep sending it out & it just keeps coming back. Oy.
    Feel better soon, ma belle Amie!

    Like

  15. Eha says:

    [Saturday evening laughter Down Under] I can hear Julie Andrews singing this now and I can just see Celi’s smile!! Yes, on the farmy ‘Togetherness rules through the chill Arctic storm’ surely was the only way to go to survive and they all did whilst we held our breath!! Having heart valve problems myself, I more than empathize with you and do hope things settle down!!

    Like

  16. Georgia says:

    Sorry to hear you haven’t been well Viv, get better soon. Well done on getting published! Your sundog poem made me smile 🙂

    Like

  17. Many congratulations on your poem being accepted. Yes, your sun dogs poem did remind me of a certain song – The Sound of Music is one of my favourite films. 🙂

    Like

  18. colonialist says:

    Congratulations on the literary successes!
    I really like your ‘Raindrops on roses’ version. That meter does go so trippingly.

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

