A Taste of Summer

Strawberry jam on January bread,
a day as dreich as most days are
on the West coast of Scotland,
elevates the mood to happy
for a while.

strawberry jam

We’re nearly at the end of last year’s strawberry jam, made in the midst of moving house,  from a mammoth crop in the old garden up the hill.

For      We Write Poems, who want an emotional weather report.   

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, short poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Taste of Summer

  1. Irene says:

    Strawberry jam’s my favorite.

    Like

  2. Your poem just made me hungry. 🙂

    -Nicole

    Like

  3. Alice Keys says:

    My strawberry jam on bread this morning tasted of summer.

    Like

  4. Such a beautiful poem to share on this freezing cold January, at least on the east coast of Canada & U.S. I so like the term “January bread”. What is the meaning of “drench”? Happy 2014!!!

    Like

  5. 1sojournal says:

    I made strawberry and raspberry freezer jam…lots less work and incredibly fresh tasting. You are so right about that freshness on a cold winter’s morning…yummy.

    Elizabeth

    Like

  6. All the more reason to make your own jam so you can taste the summer all over again! I tried to make jelly once, but ended up with jellup – something between jelly and syrup!

    Like

    • The trick is to use a sugar thermomenter when boiling the juice and jam sugar – turn it off at 225 degrees Farenheit (my thermometer was my Mum’s, so I can’t tell you the Celsius!) Also, using the juice of a lemon helps the set. This applies to jam as well as jelly.

      Like

  7. Victoria says:

    Yum. Homemade strawberry jam. It doesn’t get any better than that. A great antidepressant, heh?

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

