Winter Woes Wordle 142

wordle 142

The sky behind the house is black,
in front, a shade of scarlet.
Expect a violent storm attack
which might be rain
more likely snow
so we’ll be stuck indoors again.

I spare a thought for for my dear friend
across the pond in Illinois
and other States that have no joy,
where the weather trend
is set to get colder by the minute.
I pray a clement thaw will save
the menagerie and its caring slave.

May a little bit of warmth caress
them from first light to sundown.
while those fierce winds address
their attention to the Arctic –
not much there to mind
the winter blast, just a pair
of seals and the odd polar bear.

I truly had not a clue to what to do with the wordle words until I read the awe-inspiring post of Celie at The Kitchen’s Garden.  Then I was off with this empathetic ditty.  Fleece-lined pixie-hood on the needles.  !

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in really bad poem, rhyming poetry, wordles and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Winter Woes Wordle 142

  1. Alice Keys says:

    Wow. What an energetic and wonderful poem! Keep writing! Alice

    Like

  2. Misky says:

    The weather over there is most worrying. It’s very extreme at the moment. Nice writing, Viv.

    Like

  3. Just opened the door a crack and can’t believe how cold it is outside! Hope it heads back towards the Arctic where the seals and polar bears can enjoy the cold!

    Like

  4. colonialist says:

    It is apparent that a great deal of empathy is warranted! I simply can’t imagine living in conditions like those!
    One really feels
    Sorry for the seals,,
    And also care
    For the polar bear!

    Like

  5. Pamela says:

    Viv, this is a really poem about the winter woes. I was hoping to see a poem from you at the whirl.
    I have the woes, but they aren’t from winter weather, you know what I mean. Tomorrow, Michael goes to the hospital and then we will know the verdict, but, honestly it is not looking good. I am so sad, my friend.

    Pamela

    Like

  6. cecilia says:

    And Pixie C is looking forward to her hood from needles. What a great poem, I would not mind at all if the arctic winds went back from whence they came. It is getting worse Viv. Can you believe it. I cannot find the words to describe it. However I have put rice pudding into the oven to cook while I am out doing chores this afternoon. Though I can only work out there in little batches. About 30 seconds and I have an immediate headache – can do about 10 minutes once out of the wind. Awful. Like winters of old the old people are saying. This beach girl had no idea!.. c

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

