6-word-Saturday

Still blowing, blustery, grim and gray

Am I downhearted? No way,
A whole era awaits us; who knows
what joys and triumphs are coming, I say.
Time to get cracking
on  projects fresh and exciting.
A heap of motley fabrics inviting
experimentation;
or from a miscellany of words,
something superb may emerge –
the comfort and elation of creation.

This may have started as my contribution to Cate’s 6-word-Saturday, but somehow it morphed into a thesaurus-based Happy New Year in response to Elizabeth’s first prompt for We Write Poems to find other words to express that timely sentiment.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in Poems, rhyming poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to 6-word-Saturday

  1. You’re working rhyme very well in this poem — and I love your positive attitude.

    -Nicole

    Like

  2. Pamela says:

    Lovely outlook, Viv. I would love to have one of your quilts, how much would one cost?

    Pamela

    Like

    • Making a new bed quilt is probably beyond my strength at the moment, and I gave away or sold so many before the move that I have only 1 single bed quilt in the cupboard. I do have some wall hangings, and most of them are pictured in my quilt galleries in my header bar.
      I could give you a smallish one which wouldn’t cost too much to ship.

      Like

  3. Denise says:

    Cheery! This made me want to start more new projects! 🙂

    Like

  4. Perfect description!! Especially in your last line…creating IS both a comfort and an elation…I love this poem, Viv. 🙂

    Like

  5. Alice Keys says:

    Zam! and Zow! This is exciting and uplifting.

    Like

  6. Tonya says:

    Wishing you a warm and creative day!

    Like

  7. 1sojournal says:

    So glad you enjoyed this Viv. I thoroughly enjoyed all of your creative feelings. They are the best in my book…Happy quilting,

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/

    Like

  8. Karen S. says:

    Creating is the way to a wonderful life! Enjoy what ever it is that you do.

    Like

  9. Misky says:

    What projects do you have mind, Viv?

    Like

    • I have to make a fitted cover for a keyboard that I gave to a friend. The old one is boring grey ripped plastic. I plan to make the top as a scrap quilt, and this afternoon I have cut out all the back pieces and will apply the scraps on the quilt-as-you-go method.

      Like

      • Misky says:

        The prospects of a good project always changes ones perspective, I find. I’m browsing seed catalogues this weekend. I have so much fun looking at all the interesting plants that will create food for me. I hope that you have a very good weekend.

        Like

  10. “the comfort and elation of creation”. oh, I really like that. A cheering thought on this grey drizzly day.

    Like

  11. Lindy Lee says:

    Indeed! “something superb may emerge”– like the ring of that juxtaposition of words.
    Happy New Year 2014 to Madam VivenFrance…

    Like

  12. Jim says:

    🙂 Viv, this a nice outlook on winter living in your temperate zone. When I lived in New Hampshire I loved to watch it snowing and blowing as long as I was inside, warm and had food and water and TV.

    Like

  13. We have the same sort of weather here, but at least the wind has died down now. Just the sort of weather to get started on a project with your heap of motley fabrics? 🙂

    Like

  14. Irene says:

    Thanks for singing the wonderful joys of creation, Viv. I truly believe in as well.

    Like

  15. Ron. says:

    Don’t know nothing ’bout dem fabrical adventures, but I’se determined to get out of dis writing slump I’m in. Yessir. Thanks for de inspiration Ms V!

    Like

  16. I’m hoping for some comfort and elation of creation this year! Happy New Year! Stay warm!

    Like

  17. Judy says:

    Same here! Hopefully I’ll get some reading done as well as knit a sweater.

    Like

  18. vandana says:

    happy 2014 and happy blogging!

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

