Light

For the We Write Poems prompt this week, both my responses are re-posts. Firstly,

two senryu, written for Haiku Heights and then a Quatern written during Octpowrimo to a prompt from Ms Quickly

Light and shade showed form
to artists through the ages
richest gift of  light

Intangible
without it there is no sight
nothing without light

Light does the strangest things © Robin Smith

Light does the strangest things
Qua© Robin Smith

Light Quatern

Light is vital, it does strange things
when interrupted, shadows form
de-form according to light source
and direction, from long to small.

In photography, as in life,
light is vital. It does strange things
to object image and background –
brightens one, obscures the other.

Deprivation to a blind man
must be a major tragedy.
Light is vital, it does strange things.
Without it he can only feel

his way around by touch and sound
and smell. Senses become enhanced –
without them, life not worth living.
Light is vital, it does strange things.

The form for a quatern is: 16 lines broken up into 4 quatrains (or 4-line stanzas). Each line is comprised of eight syllables. The first line is the refrain. In the second stanza, the refrain appears in the second line; in the third stanza, the third line; in the fourth stanza, the fourth (and final) line. There are no rules for rhyming or iambics, although I think the original quaterns in French were usually iambic tetrameter. I found several examples in French and they all had this rhyme scheme: abab but I chose to do mine in free verse.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in formal poetry, haiku and senryu, Poems, re-blogs and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Light

  1. Ramesh Sood says:

    This are beautiful takes on the prompt.. I liked them both.. And I am happy to be back here..after a long time..

    Liked by 1 person

  2. DeeDee says:

    Deprivation to a blind man
    must be a major tragedy.

    I loved these lines

    Liked by 1 person

  3. They are both delightful in their own way! I have to admire the way you are able to adhere to all those rules when writing. I don’t know how you do it – I know I couldn’t!

    Visit Keith’s Ramblings!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I especially liked the quatern…it was gorgeous. The form is fascinating, especially how that refrain line moves throughout the poem. I’ll have to try this sometime.

    -Nicole

    Like

  5. colonialist says:

    ‘S funny how good you are at doing light verse that is serious! Mine are so light one has difficulty in keeping them down … Retch-ed, in fact!

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

