Happy Christmas everyone

HAPPY CHRISTMAS EVERYONE

I’m fed up with TV at Christmas,
which started long before Advent,
with too many chefs telling us
how to cook a turkey, ice a cake,
bake a cake and cook a turkey.

Then there are all those
wanting us to fill the house with tat,
kitsch and home-made dust catchers
beloved of leaping cats.
And that’s just the programmes.

I can’t watch the commercial channels
with advertisements for
costly naffery,
in between the endless trailers
that have bored us silly by the time
the programmes are aired.

I’m fed up with Christmas
so I think I’ll give it a miss –
deliver  gifts to the neighbours,
go to Midnight Mass
then sleep till twenty-fourteen.

About https://vivinfrance.wordpress.com

All poetry, prose and pictures posted here, except where otherwise stated, is my own, and may only be used elsewhere with my expressed permission. Please don't be inhibited from correcting my bloopers and making suggestions: Most of what I post here is instant, ill-considered and off-the-cuff, in serious need of editing.
This entry was posted in free verse, humour, Poems, rants, really bad poem and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Happy Christmas everyone

  1. Ellen Knight says:

    Hey, Viv. I do soooo agree. I am blessed to finally be at a place in my life where I realize that what I bring to the table is me. Now that I am satisfied with that, I’ve discovered that my friends and family are as well. Peace and blessings.

    Like

  2. Jo Woolf says:

    Happy Christmas to you all, Viv! I agree totally about the TV – supermarkets are even worse. They’ll be clearing the shelves for Easter eggs by Boxing Day!

    Like

  3. rosross says:

    Merry Christmas Viv. The kids love it and I love being around kids so Christmas is a wonderful time. I also like choosing and giving gifts to people and I love the baking and cooking. It is a pretty relaxed thing though in Australia and the sun shines so it’s all good.

    Like

  4. Eha says:

    Oh Viv, I SO agree!! DO have a lovely, peaceful, sensible time ~ I know i will 🙂 !

    Like

  5. Happy ‘humbug’ Christmas to you, Viv.

    Like

  6. colonialist says:

    It is all part of the media (and big business) habit of flogging a topic to death. Look at the Mandela hype – with all respects, it was just TOO much.
    Anyway, Merry Christmas, and a Happy, Healthy and Prosperous New Year – in case you follow your hibernating intension I’d better get in with that last bit now!

    Like

  7. all of that and more is why I bowed out of the whole dang thing three years ago now. I send a wee gift to each of my kids and that’s it! I avoid all the stress, all the craziness, all the spending and for the most part, pretty much forget it’s christmas.

    Like

I love it when you leave a Reply

